Is Clover Honey Vegan? Why do Vegans not eat Honey?

Clover honey is not vegan. It is made by honeybees that extract nectar from clover plants. Vegans don’t eat honey or other products made from or made by animals. However, some vegans eat honey produced by local farms. Local farms don’t expose bees to cruel conditions like commercial farms. Moreover, many local farms sell leftover honey collected from beehives after bees have eaten for the winter season.

What is Clover Honey?

Clover honey is a type of monofloral honey produced by bees that feed-off of clover nectar. Clover honey has a mild, floral flavor and is known for its great taste, especially when used for topping and baking.

especially when used for topping and baking

Why do Vegans not eat Honey?

Vegans don’t eat honey as it is an animal product. Secondly, even non-vegans are concerned about how commercial honey is produced. Honeybees are exposed to cruel practices like wing clipping, pesticides, and hive burning. Hive burning is the cruelest of all, as beekeepers burn whole hives to stop the spread of American Foul Brood, a contagious disease affecting bees.

Some farmers also replace honey in the hive with sweeteners like high fructose corn syrup. It starves and malnourish bees.

Why do Some Vegans Eat Honey?

You may see some vegans being okay with honey. Such vegans don’t eat anything coming from animals but are okay with foods made by insects. Moreover, vegans who eat honey prefer buying from small local farms. The local honey produced by small farms is usually taken from beehives after bees have eaten all they need. Small farms are also bee-friendly but still rob bees of what they produce.

Small farms are also bee-friendly but still rob bees of what they produce

Vegan Alternatives to Honey

There are plenty of sweeteners vegans can use as honey substitutes. Please note that these sweeteners are rich in sugar and must be consumed in moderation.

Agave Nectar: It is the most popular substitute for honey and has a similar texture and taste. Agave nectar is derived from agave plants.

Maple Syrup: It is a well-known sweetener, but its texture and taste differ from honey. It comes from maple tree sap.

Blackstrap Molasses: Blackstrap molasses are made by boiling sugar cane juice. It has a distinct flavor and is often used as a honey replacement.

Barley Malt Syrup: Barley malt syrup is a dark brown, thick, and sticky sweetener extracted from barley sprouts. 

Date Syrup: Date syrup is made by blending boiled dates with water. You can control the thickness of date syrup by adjusting the volume of water.

Brown Rice Syrup: Brown rice syrup is made by exposing brown rice to enzymes that break down the starch in the rice. Brown rice syrup is also known as rice malt.

Bee-free Honey: Bee-free honey is genetically engineered honey made by multiplying regular honey’s DNA. Bee-free honey is available commercially, and you can make it at home as well.

Can I make Clover Honey at Home?

Yes. You can make vegan clover honey at home using apple juice, sugar, lemon juice, and clover tea. Some recipes may call for chamomile tea. You just need to replace chamomile tea with clover tea. Please note that homemade vegan honey will not have the same taste and consistency as regular honey, but it is the safest option for vegans.

Is Manuka Honey Vegan?

Manuka honey is not vegan. However, it is less cruel than other types of honey because Manuka honey because bees collect the honey before they consume it.

Is Wildflower Honey Vegan?

Wildflower honey is not vegan. It is extracted from bees that produce honey from the nectar of various flowers. Wildflower honey, also known as raw honey, has a different taste from season to season and region to region.

Is Acacia Honey Vegan?

Acacia honey is not vegan. Acacia honey is made by bees that extract nectar from acacia plants. Acacia honey is famous for its light color and unique taste.

Is Local Honey Vegan?

Local honey is not vegan, but its production is less cruel than commercial honey. Small-scale beekeepers don’t expose bees to cruel practices like commercial farms.


  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

Leave a Comment

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268