Most ketchup is vegan. However, you must always check the ingredients and labels before buying to be on the safe side. Some ketchup varieties may contain honey. Honey is a big no for vegans as it is an animal-derived ingredient.
Ketchups are usually made with the following ingredients.
- Sweetener (refined sugar or organic sugar, high fructose corn syrup, brown sugar, cane sugar, or honey)
Ingredient Analysis: How to make sure that your Ketchup is Vegan?
All the ingredients except refined sugar, brown sugar, and honey are okay for vegans. Honey, as you know, is made by bees, and vegans don’t eat anything from animals. Refined, brown, or cane sugar is technically vegan, but it is processed using animal bone char. Many vegans don’t consume refined sugar or edibles made with refined sugar, whereas some are fine with it. It depends on your preference and how strictly you follow veganism.
Sugar is okay as long as it is organic. Organic sugar isn’t processed with bone char. It is raw sugar which is free from any animal-derived products.
You will see high fructose corn syrup as a sweetener in many ketchups. It is 100% vegan and not processed using bone char.
The debate boils down to this: avoid ketchup with honey, sugar (if it is not organic), and activated carbon. Moreover, check the ingredients before buying, and you’ll be fine.
Is Plant-Based Ketchup always Vegan?
No. Plant-based ketchup isn’t always vegan. Ketchup can be plant-based and still contain honey. So, you must check the ingredients before buying.
Does Ketchup have Dairy?
No. Most ketchup is dairy-free. You may see dairy-infused ketchup for a special occasion or in a funky flavor.
Does Ketchup have Animal Products?
Some ketchups are sweetened using honey. Vegans don’t eat honey, but vegetarians are okay with honey-flavored ketchup.
Check the links below to see which ketchup is vegan!