Is Manuka Honey Vegan? Why is it Better Than Other types of Honey?

No. Manuka honey is not vegan. It is a monofloral honey produced from the nectar of the Manuka tree. The Manuka tree is native to Australia and New Zealand, but Manuka honey is now produced globally. Manuka honey is an edible, wound and burns healer, skin care product for eczema and dermatitis.

Manuka honey is better than other types of honey because it is a monofloral honey. Bees collect the honey before they consume it. The honey collection process doesn’t kill or harm bees but isn’t cruelty-free and involves bee exploitation. 

honey collection process doesn’t kill or harm bees but isn’t cruelty-free and involves bee exploitation

Is Manuka Leaf Oil Vegan?

Manuka leaf oil is a type of essential oil made by steam distillation of the leaves of the Manuka Tree. It is different from Manuka honey and free from animal-derived ingredients or animal cruelty. Manuka oil is 100% vegan and plant-based. It is commonly used as a skin and hair care product.

Why Vegans don’t eat Honey?

Vegans don’t eat honey because its farming is against vegan principles. Any type of honey, commercial or local, is derived from bees.

Some vegans may choose to eat local honey if they know it is from a humane and sustainable local farm. Local honey isn’t processed or pasteurized.

It depends on your preferences and how strictly you follow veganism. Some people are okay with foods made from insects, such as honey.

Vegan Alternatives to Honey

There are several vegan alternatives to honey. These plant-based options are cruelty-free, 100% vegan, and taste great. Let’s check out the common ones!

Maple Syrup: It is the most famous vegan replacement for honey. Maple syrup is made from maple tree sap and contains various minerals, vitamins, and antioxidants.

Barley Malt Syrup: It is made from sprouted barley. Barley malt syrup is a dark brown, thick, sticky sweetener with a distinctive malty odor. Its sweetness is about half of the refined sugar.

Blackstrap Molasses: It is obtained after boiling sugar cane juice 3-4 times. Blackstrap molasses is rich in iron and calcium.

Date Syrup: It is made by blending boiled dates with water. Date syrup is caramel-colored and lower in calories than regular sugar.

Brown Rice Syrup: It is also known as rice syrup or rice malt. The sweetener is derived by exposing brown rice to enzymes that break down the starch in the rice. The syrup has a thick and dark texture.

Agave Nectar: It has a similar texture and consistency to honey. Agave nectar is derived from agave plants but is highly processed before it reaches you.

Bee-Free Honey: There are many bee-free honey options. Bee Free Honee and bee-io are popular examples. You may not find these brands commonly in local stores.

All these substitutes are 100% vegan and free from animal-derived ingredients but you must always check the ingredients before buying. However, all are rich in sugar and must be consumed in moderation. Any vegan sweetener can be used as a honey substitute.

Any vegan sweetener can be used as a honey substitute

Can I make Vegan Honey at Home?

Yes. You can make vegan honey at home using simple ingredients. The common ingredients used to make vegan honey are apple juice, sugar, chamomile tea, and lemon juice. You may see recipes with different ingredients; make sure that all the ingredients you use in the recipe are 100% vegan.

Is Local Honey Vegan?

Local honey is not vegan by definition, but you’ll see many vegans eating local honey. Usually small farms produce sustainable local honey. These beekeepers don’t exploit bees for large-scale honey production. On the contrary, some vegans don’t eat anything made from or made by animals.

Is Wildflower Honey Vegan?

No. Wildflower honey is not vegan. Wildflower is made when the bees gather nectars from a variety of flowers.

Is Clover Honey Vegan?

Clover honey is not vegan. Clover honey is made by bees that extract nectar from clover plants. The honey-making process exploits the bees and robs them of their diet.

Is Acacia Honey Vegan?

Acacia honey is derived from the acacia flower and is not vegan. Acacia honey is famous for its light to transparent color and unique taste.


  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

Leave a Comment

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268