It depends on the ingredients and type of chocolate. Most dark chocolates are vegan, whereas milk and white chocolates are usually not vegan. These varieties can be vegan if they are made with plant-based milk and free from animal-derived ingredients.
Chocolates are made from cocoa butter. Cocoa butter is derived from cocoa beans which are 100% free from animal-derived ingredients or animal cruelty. However, it is not as simple as it seems to be. Almost all chocolates have other ingredients like sugar, nuts, milk (can be animal milk or plant-based), and honey. So, you must always look for the labels and ingredients.
How to Spot a Vegan Chocolate?
Most dark chocolates are vegan. When buying vegan chocolates, it is a good idea to keep your options limited to dark chocolate. Surprisingly, you can also find vegan white and milk chocolates made with plant-based milk and vegan ingredients.
Here are a few tips to help you buy vegan chocolate!
Look for vegan labels and ingredients; brands that make vegan chocolate put vegan labels on the packaging. Some even display made with plant-based milk labels.
Avoid chocolates with ingredients like milk, milk solids, milk fat, honey, and eggs.
Vanilla is 100% vegan. You’ll find it in many vegan chocolates.
Dark chocolates with a cocoa content of 50% or more are mostly vegan.
Many vegans don’t eat products made with refined sugar. Refined sugar is technically vegan but filtered using animal bone char. So, it is up to you to decide if you are okay with a controversial product. One way to avoid refined sugar is to buy chocolate with organic sugar.
You may choose not to eat chocolates with artificial flavors. Artificial flavors are man-made, but some brands test them on animals.
Prefer well-reputed and trusted brands while buying chocolate. Always check ingredients and search the brand’s history and sourcing methods before trying a new brand.
Brands that make vegan and non-vegan chocolate use the same equipment for both varieties. Hence, there is always a chance of cross-contamination from non-vegan ingredients like milk, honey, and eggs.
Can I make Vegan Chocolate at Home?
Yes. You can make vegan chocolate at home. Many vegans prefer making chocolate at home because it is free from cross-contamination. Moreover, you can control what you put into the chocolate and substitute any allergic ingredient.
It is also cheaper to make chocolate at home. Although you may not get the texture and creaminess of store-bought vegan chocolate, it is still worth a try. Here is a quick recipe to make vegan white chocolate with simple ingredients.
Where can I buy Vegan Chocolate?
Vegan chocolate is commonly available online and in stores. Many brands make vegan chocolate. Here is a list of Peta-approved vegan dark chocolate bars.
Do Vegan Chocolates have a Different Taste?
You may feel a slight taste difference if it’s your first time. You’ll get used to it in no time. Most dark chocolates are vegan. If you are used to eating dark chocolate, you’ll not feel any difference.
Check the articles below to find which of your favorite chocolate brands and types are vegan!