Is Wildflower Honey Vegan? Why is it Better than Regular Honey?

Wildflower honey is not vegan. Just like all the other types of honey, wildflower honey is also extracted from honeybees. Vegans don’t eat things made from or made by animals. However, wildflower honey is better than regular honey because it is not processed and is delivered in raw form. Wildflower honey is filtered using a nylon cloth to remove impurities like honeycomb chunks, dead bees, and dirt. Regular honey or processed honey is a mixture of natural honey, sugar syrups, flavors, and preservatives.

honey is a mixture of natural honey, sugar syrups, flavors, and preservatives

What is Wildflower Honey?

Bees produce wildflower honey from the nectar of various flowers. It is also called raw honey or the purest form of honey.

The bees visit different flowers during the pollination season and return to the beehive to produce honey. They don’t mix the honey from different types of nectar.

Beekeepers or farmers then mix the honey to produce wildflower honey. The honey collected is then filtered over a nylon cloth to remove impurities.

Wildflower honey’s taste varies from season to season and region to another. Wildflower honey is more common than monofloral honey because the latter is produced from one type of flower like Manuka, Acacia, and Clover.

monofloral honey because the latter is produced from one type of flower like Manuka, Acacia, and Clover

Why do Vegans not eat Honey?

First of all, it is produced by animals. Secondly, bees are exposed to cruel practices like wing clipping, pesticide use, and hive burning to prevent diseases like American Foul Brood. Many commercial farmers remove honey from the beehive and replace it with sweeteners like high fructose corn syrup. It starves bees and makes them weak, leading to mass-scale deaths.       

Why do Some Vegans Eat Honey?

Some vegans may eat local honey produced by local and small farms. The reason is that bees in small farms are not exposed to cruel practices as in commercial farms. Moreover, many local farms take honey during the spring season. This is the leftover honey after the bees have taken what they need for the winter season. This practice doesn’t starve or kill bees but robs them of what they produce.

It depends on you where you draw the line. Strict vegans don’t eat anything that has a slight interference from animals, for example refined sugar.

Vegan Substitutes for Honey

You can use any of the following as vegan substitutes for honey. These sweeteners are natural but rich in sugar. Hence must be consumed in moderation.

Maple Syrup: Maple syrup is the most famous honey substitute for vegan. It is extracted from maple tree sap and contains minerals, vitamins, and antioxidants.

Agave Nectar: Agave nectar is a highly processed but 100% vegan sweetener. It is derived from agave plants.  

Date Syrup: Date syrup is made by blending boiled dates with water. The result is a caramel-like sweetener with a rich consistency.

Barley Malt Syrup: A dark brown, thick, and sticky sweetener extracted from barley sprouts.

Blackstrap Molasses: Blackstrap molasses is unprocessed and made by boiling sugarcane juice 3-4 times.

Brown Rice Syrup: Brown rice syrup or rice malt is made by exposing brown rice to enzymes that break down the stretch in them. 

Bee-Free Honey: Bee-free honey’s popularity has increased in recent times. Bee-free honey is made by multiplying regular honey’s DNA without the help of bees.

Can Vegans make Honey at Home?

Yes. You can make honey at home by blending apple juice, lemon juice, sugar, and chamomile tea. Although homemade honey doesn’t have a texture like regular honey, it is better than processed alternatives.

Is Local Honey Vegan?

Local honey is not vegan but is obtained less cruelly compared to commercial honey. Local honey is farmed by small-scale beekeepers that don’t expose bees to cruel practices. Moreover, many local farms sell leftover honey in the spring season. This is the excessive honey left after bees have already taken what they need for winter.

Is Manuka Honey Vegan?

Manuka honey is not vegan but better than other types of honey. Bees collect the honey before they consume it.

Is Clover Honey Vegan?

No. Clover honey is not vegan. Clover honey is made by honeybees that extract nectar from clover plants.

Is Acacia Honey Vegan?

Acacia honey is not vegan. It is made by bees that extract nectar from acacia plants. Acacia honey is known for its unique taste and light color.


  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

Leave a Comment

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268