Is Sun-Pat Peanut Butter Vegan? Ingredients and Variants

Yes. Sun-Pet peanut butter is 100% vegan and dairy-free. Most Peanut Butter is vegan as it is usually made with roasted peanuts, salt, sugar, and vegetable oils.

Sun-Pat’s official website lists all its products suitable for vegans and vegetarians.

also lists all its products suitable for vegans and vegetarians.

The confusion about peanut butter being vegan is due to “butter.” Butter in most peanut butter is dairy-free. However, some manufacturers may add non-vegan ingredients like honey, dairy, and omega-3 (fish-based is not vegan, plant-based is vegan) to give special flavors. Hence, it is recommended that you must check the ingredients before buying peanut butter.

check the ingredients before buying peanut butter

PETA (People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals) has answered the question, “is peanut butter vegan.” It says that almost all peanut butter is vegan. Most peanut butter is made with ground peanuts and salt. It also stresses the health benefits of peanut butter. Peanut butter is good for the heart as it contains monounsaturated fats, and ¼ cup contains around 19% of recommended protein intake.

Sun-Pat Peanut Butter Variations 

Sun-Pat offers 4 variations of peanut butter. These are listed below.

  • Sun-Pat Crunchy Peanut Butter
  • Sun-Pat Smooth Peanut Butter
  • Sun-Pat Crunchy Peanut Butter (no added sugar)
  • Sun-Pat Smooth Peanut Butter (no added sugar)

All of these variations are 100% vegan. It may offer different variations in some countries. Hence, checking the ingredients on the packaging is recommended to be 100% sure that it is vegan.

packaging is recommended to be 100% sure that it is vegan

Sun-Pat Peanut Butter Ingredients 

A look at Sun-Pat peanut butter variations reveals that all its ingredients are 100% vegan.

  • Peanuts (100% vegan)
  • E471 (mono or diglyceride; 100% vegan, plant-based)
  • Cane sugar (100% vegan)
  • Peanut oil (100% vegan)
  • Sea salt (100% vegan) (Also read: Is Shrimp Vegan Friendly?)

The peanut percentage may vary from one variant to another. Variants without sugar don’t have added sugar.

Where can I buy Sun-Pat Peanut Butter? 

Sun-pat peanut butter is commonly available in supermarkets and online. Amazon offers all of its variants.

Are all Peanut Butter Vegan? 

Yes. Almost 100% peanut butter is vegan. Most brands do not label peanut butter as vegan due to certain regulations and certifications. Moreover, it is a well-established fact that peanut butter is vegan.

However, some companies rarely add honey or dairy to give peanut butter a special flavor. Vegans don’t consume anything coming from animals. Hence, it is best to check ingredients if you are trying a new brand or buying a new flavor from your regular brand.

Can Vegans eat Peanut Butter with Omega-3?

It depends on omega-3’s source. If it is plant-based (walnuts, chia seeds, hemp seeds, seaweed, and flaxseed), vegans can eat it. As a vegan, you cannot eat omega-3 from fish (salmon, tuna, herring, sardines, and mackerel).

Does Peanut Butter have Lactose? 

No. Peanut butter doesn’t have lactose. Lactose is a sugar found in animal dairy. The sugar in peanut butter is cane sugar or vegan sugar.


  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

Leave a Comment

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268