Yes. Stork margarine is vegan. Some people say Stork is vegan in its block, but tub form is not vegan. This isn’t true. All Stork variations are 100% vegan and free from non-vegan ingredients.
Let’s look at the ingredients and variations to find out more.
Stork Variations and Ingredients
Stork’s official website lists 4 variations of its products.
- Stork Original 250 Grams
- Stork Original 500 Grams
- Stork Original 1 KG
- Stork Baking Block 250 Grams
All four variations have the following ingredients.
Ingredient Analysis: Stork contains palm oil, but Stork has mentioned that it is committed to sustainable palm oil. This statement solves vegan concerns about palm oil farming and its impacts on animal habitats and the environment.
The margarine also contains Vitamin A & D. Some people might question the source of these ingredients because Stork has mentioned from where it obtains these ingredients. On the contrary, many retail giants like Tesco, Waitrose, and Sainsbury list it as a vegan.
There is more evidence about vitamin D in Stork being vegan. Veganoo, a vegan review site, published Unilever’s response on the source of vitamin D. The response confirmed that vitamin D is plant-derived and 100% vegan.
Since Unilever owns Stork, it is up to you whether to buy Stork or not because Unilever has been involved in animal testing and sells its products in mainland China. Many vegans don’t buy anything from Unilever, even if the particular item is 100% vegan. On its website, Unilever has published many articles claiming that it doesn’t test any of its products on animals anymore.
Verdict: Stork Margarine is 100% vegan without any controversial ingredients. However, its parent company, Unilever, manufactures non-vegan items. Whether you consume Stork or not depends on how strictly you adhere to veganism.
Vegan Margarine/Butter Spreads
- Earth Balance Original Buttery Spread
- Land O Lakes® Plant-Based Creamy Spread
- MIYOKO’S CREAMERY Organic Salted Vegan Butter
- Kite Hill Plant-Based Butter Alternative
- I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter (only vegan pack)
- Milkadamia Buttery Spread
Is Stork Suitable for Vegetarians?
Yes. Stork is suitable for vegetarians. Vegetarians eat animal byproducts such as dairy, eggs, and honey but don’t consume meat or things that involve animal slaughtering.
Is Stork Gluten-Free?
Yes. Stork is safe for people with gluten allergies.
Is Stork Baking Margarine Vegan?
Yes. It is vegan and dairy-free. The ingredients are more or less similar to the baking spread. Vegans can have as much as they want.
Is Stork Soft Margarine Vegan?
Yes. It is vegan.
Is Stork Tub Margarine Vegan?
Yes. Stork tub margarine is 100% vegan and dairy-free.
Is Stork Block Margarine Vegan?
Yes. It is vegan. You can use it in biscuits, scones, flapjacks, crumbles, and brownies.
Can I replace butter with Stork?
Yes. You can. The good part is that Stork and butter can be used in equal proportions. You don’t need to add extra Stork to make up for butter.
What are the Nutritional Facts for Stork?
The nutritional facts on Stork’s website are shown in the image below.
Blue Bonnet Light Margarine is vegan but contains palm oil and vitamin A palmitate. Blue Bonnet hasn’t mentioned the source of vitamin A palmitate and whether it obtains palm oil via sustainable farming. It puts Blue Bonnet on the gray list.
It also contains palm oil and vitamin A palmitate. These ingredients are okay if the source is mentioned. Many vegans don’t eat Imperial margarine because it goes against their belief in justice and cruelty-free practices for animals.
It depends on the ingredients. Country Crock’s plant-based butter is dairy-free, but it has palm oil and vitamin A & E. Country Crock hasn’t specified the source of these ingredients; you can’t be 100% sure about it.
Yes. Becel Margarine offers a vegan variant. It is lactose and gluten-free. Please note that Becel margarine contains palm oil, but the brand has cleared its position that the palm oil it uses doesn’t contain animal byproducts and is obtained via sustainable farming.
Yes. Land O Lakes offers a plant-based creamy spread. Please note that all of its products are not vegan. Hence, you must always check the ingredients before buying.