Is Ricotta Cheese Vegan? Recipe + Vegan Substitutes

Ricotta cheese may or may not be vegan. It depends on the ingredients and how the cheese is made.

Traditional and authentic Ricotta cheese is made from cow, sheep, goat, or buffalo milk whey. The whey used to make traditional Ricotta cheese was usually obtained from the production of other cheeses. Hence, traditional Ricotta cheese is not vegan.

Today, the manufacturing process has changed. Ricotta is usually made with whole milk instead of whey.

Ricotta is usually made with whole milk instead of whey

Can Vegetarians eat Ricotta Cheese? 

Yes. It is vegetarian. Why? Because it is free from animal rennet. Most ricotta varieties are soft and made without animal rennet. However, you must always check the ingredients before buying ricotta cheese, as some manufacturers may add rennet to give the cheese a particular shape and texture.

What is a Vegan Substitute for Ricotta Cheese? 

Ricotta cheese is vegan when it is made from plant-based milk. It can be made using cashews, almonds, coconut milk/yogurt, and tofu. Other ingredients like lemon juice, garlic, nutritional yeast, and herbs are used to add flavor and texture to homemade vegan ricotta cheese.

texture to homemade vegan ricotta cheese


Vegan Ricotta Cheese Recipe

Andy Nevers
This recipe uses tofu, plant-based milk, lemon juice, and garlic to make a creamy, fluffy, tasty, dairy-free, and 100% vegan Ricotta Cheese in only 10 minutes.
4.67 from 3 votes
Prep Time 5 minutes
Cook Time 5 minutes
Total Time 10 minutes
Course Appetizer
Cuisine American
Servings 2 cups
Calories 236 kcal


  • 2 paper towels
  • Food processor


  • 1 block extra firm tofu
  • cup nutritional yeast
  • ¼ cup non-dairy milk (unsweetened)
  • 2 tbsp. lemon juice
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 teaspoon dried parsley


  • Spread a paper towel on a plate and place tofu on it. Press tofu with another paper towel to absorb some water.
  • Crumble the tofu, add it to a food processor, and pulse until it becomes powdery.
  • Add the remaining ingredients and grind until the mixture is smooth.
  • You can now use prepared ricotta in place of dairy ricotta cheese.



Ricotta is soft cheese; it doesn’t need chilling.
Store the cheese in the refrigerator in an airtight container and use it for 3-4 days.
Plant-based milk like cashews, almonds, soy, oat milk, coconut, rice, or pea milk can be used. The end taste will be affected by the type of milk you use.
The nutritional information given below is calculated approximately. It may change depending on the ingredients type and quantity.
  • Fat: 12g
  • Saturated Fat: 2g
  • Carbohydrates: 11g
  • Sugar: 3g
  • Protein: 22g
  • Sodium: 1322mg
  • Potassium: 573mg
  • Calcium: 115mg
  • Iron: 3mg
  • Fiber: 2g
  • Vitamin A: 118IU
  • Vitamin C: 8mg
Keyword Vegan Ricotta Cheese

Vegan Ricotta Brands

Too busy to make vegan ricotta yourself? Don’t worry. There are plenty of brands selling vegan ricotta. The following brands make great-tasting and 100% vegan ricotta. However, you must always check the labels and ingredients before buying.

Kite Hill Almond Milk Ricotta Cheese Alternative

It is 100% vegan and gluten-free. The ingredients include almond milk (water, almonds), salt, enzymes, tartaric acid, and cultures. The cheese is soy-free, Kosher, and Non-GMO.

Kite Hill Ricotta is commonly available in stores and online.

The cheese has a rich and creamy texture, making it perfect for lasagna, pancakes or as a replacement for mascarpone in desserts.

or as a replacement for mascarpone in desserts

Kite hill also offers spinach and almond milk ricotta ravioli variant. It is also 100% vegan and dairy-free. You can buy it here.

New Roots 

New roots is a famous European brand known for making vegan ricotta. You may not find its cheese in many US stores because it is a Switzerland-based brand.


Tofutti is another brand selling high-quality, 100% vegan, and tasty ricotta cheese. Its vegan ricotta goes by “Better than Ricotta” and is made with soy protein, brown rice, olive oil, and tofu. You can buy it here.

is made with soy protein, brown rice, olive oil, and tofu. You can buy it here


Is Cheddar Cheese Vegan? 

Cheddar cheese is not vegan, as it is made using milk and rennet. However, you can find some cheddar cheese varieties with plant-based milk and non-animal rennet.

Is Grana Padano Vegan? 

No. Grana Padano is not vegan. It is made using milk and animal rennet. Both of these ingredients are a no-go for vegans. The presence of animal-rennet makes Grana Padano non-vegetarian.

Is Goat Cheese Vegan? 

Goat cheese is not vegan. It is made using goat milk. However, many vegan varieties in the market have texture and shape similar to goat cheese.

Is Parmesan Cheese Vegan Friendly? 

No. Authentic Parmesan cheese or Parmigiano-Reggiano is not vegan-friendly. It is made with cow milk and animal rennet. The good part is that many parmesan vegan alternatives are on the market.

Is Mozzarella Cheese Vegan?

No. Mozzarella cheese is not vegan. It is made with animal milk and rennet, making it unsuitable for vegans and vegetarians.

Is Tofutti better than Vegan Ricotta? 

It depends on what you like. Some people make vegan ricotta better than commercial alternatives. Some prefer Tofutti and other brands over homemade vegan ricotta. It all comes down to your taste preferences.


  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

3 thoughts on “Is Ricotta Cheese Vegan? Recipe + Vegan Substitutes”

  1. 5 stars
    I love this easy recipe on ricotta cheese vegan from your website. I wanted to make a vegan lasagna, but I could not find the vegan cheese in my local supermarket so I decided to make my own using ricotta cheese vegan, and it turned out super delicious! Thanks for the amazing recipes!

  2. 5 stars
    The ricotta cheese vegan recipe I got from your website is a real family favorite. In fact, it’s always requested because it’s so easy to make with just three ingredients! Thanks for sharing!

  3. 4 stars
    This is the best vegan ricotta cheese I have ever tasted. It is creamy and sweet with a wonderful texture, just like the real thing. And it’s so easy to make with just 3 ingredients. I love that you can use this vegan ricotta in savory recipes as well as sweet recipes!


Leave a Comment

Recipe Rating

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268