No. Peter Pan peanut butter is not vegan. Peter Pan mentions on their website that all of their products are not vegan, but they are vegetarian.
You may see some people listing Peter Pan peanut butter as vegan because it may look like it is free from animal-derived or cruelty-free ingredients. This isn’t the case. Peter Pan uses refined sugar in its products. Refined sugar is processed using animal bone char. It is used to remove impurities from sugar. You must look for organic sugar if you want to use sugar free from bone char.
Peter Pan Peanut Butter Variations and Ingredients
|Creamy||Crunchy||Roasted peanuts, sugar, less than 2% of: hydrogenated vegetable oil (rapeseed and cottonseed), and salt.|
|Honey Roast Peanut Spread|
|Creamy||Crunchy||Roasted peanuts, sugar, molasses, hydrogenated vegetable oil [rapeseed and cottonseed], salt, sugar, and honey.|
|Creamy||Crunchy||Roasted peanuts, sugar, palm oil, organic honey, molasses, and salt.|
Ingredient Analysis: The ingredients in Peter Pan’s regular and natural peanut butter variants may look vegan, but they aren’t. Peter Pan uses refined sugar, which is processed with animal bone char. Moreover, the honey-roasted variant has honey in it. Vegans don’t eat honey or anything made from honey.
What about Palm Oil in Peanut Butter?
The palm oil in Peter Pan peanut butter is sustainable and certified by the Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil (RSPO).
Can Vegetarians eat Peter Pan Peanut Butter?
Yes. Vegetarians can eat all variants of peanut butter. Vegetarians are usually okay with honey, dairy, and refined sugar. Some vegetarians may choose not to eat Peter Pan peanuts depending on how strictly they adhere to vegetarianism.
Is Peter Pan Dairy-Free?
Yes. None of the Peter Pan variants contain dairy. Most peanut butter is dairy-free. The word “butter” in peanut butter doesn’t mean that it is the typical dairy-based butter.
Is Peter Pan Peanut Butter Gluten-Free?
Yes. All Peter Pan products are gluten-free.
Peter Pan Peanut Butter Case
Peter Pan was penalized $11.2 million in a decade-long legal battle for a salmonella outbreak that sickened at least 625 people in 47 states. This case was a big blow to Peter Pan’s reputation. You can read more about the case here.
Vegan Peanut Butter Alternatives
Most peanut butter is vegan as it is made from only peanuts and salt. Some brands may add sugar and vegetable oils. Vegans can eat peanut butter with sugar and vegetable oil as long as they are organic and obtained via sustainable farming.
It is USDA-organic certified and a 100% vegan option. It is unsweetened and salt-free with a natural taste because it is made from organic roasted peanuts. You can have as much as you like as it is free from cholesterol and vegetable oils.
Vegans with nut allergies can satisfy their peanut butter cravings with wow butter peanut-free plant protein. It is made from soy, palm oil, can sugar (organic and vegan), and sea salt. The plant protein tastes similar to peanut butter and makes your snack loaded with protein and energy.
Made from only peanuts, it is 100% vegan and gluten-free. You can have it with toasts, vegan buns, and biscuits, or simply munch on it to meet your daily protein needs.
Earth Balance is a famous vegan brand. Most of its foods are made with 100% organic and vegan ingredients. The creamy spread is loaded with coconut oil to give you a nutty flavor.
Last but not least, this peanut butter is also USDA-organic certified and 100% vegan. It is made with 100% organic peanuts to give you a wholesome taste. The peanut butter is gluten and palm-oil-free.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Jif Peanut Butter Vegan?
Some variants are vegan but with controversial ingredients like sugar and palm oil. You may choose to eat Jif if you are okay with sugar and palm oil origin not being specified.
Yes. Kraft peanut butter is vegan and free from controversial ingredients like sugar and palm oil.
Marmite’s peanut butter is vegan, but Unilever owns Marmite. Unilever has been accused of animal testing, which is against veganism. Although Unilever has stated many times that it doesn’t test its products on animals anymore, the final decision is yours.
Yes. It is vegan. Please note that Sun-Pat is made using cane sugar, which is 100% organic and free from bone char.
It isn’t listed as vegan by Justin’s, but some variants are made with 100% organic and vegan ingredients. You must always check the ingredients before buying.
Yes. Almond butter is vegan in its raw form. Many brands add dairy or honey to give almond butter special flavors.
Shea butter is 100% vegan and free from dairy or animal-derived ingredients.
Yes. Cocoa butter is vegan in its raw form. However, it is frequently used in many products with non-vegan ingredients. So, make sure you check the ingredients.