Is Pasta Salad Vegan? Vegan Pasta Salad Recipe

It depends on the ingredients. Most restaurant-ordered pasta salad isn’t vegan as it usually contains non-vegan cheese, chicken, eggs, refined sugar, mayo, or other animal-derived ingredients.

On the contrary, you can easily make pasta salad vegan by replacing animal-based ingredients with plant-based ones. Many restaurants offer vegan pasta salad free from dairy or other non-vegan ingredients. You can add veggies, vegan cheese, chickpeas, or lentils to your vegan pasta salad.

veggies, vegan cheese, chickpeas or lentils to your vegan pasta salad

Vegan pasta salad is easy to make at home too. Moreover, you have the freedom to change the recipe to your liking. Many vegans prefer making pasta salad or other vegan dishes at home because there is no risk of cross-contamination. Restaurants prepare vegan and non-vegan dishes with the same equipment. Hence, there is a high risk of cross-contamination.

Boxed pasta salad may or may not be vegan, depending on the ingredients. For example, Amazon Kitchen’s roasted edamame pasta salad is 100% vegan and plant-based. It is made from roasted edamame, carrots, red bell peppers, soybean oil, rice vinegar, and water.

soybean oil, rice vinegar and water

Is Pasta Salad Vegetarian?

Vegetarians don’t eat products obtained after killing animals. Most pasta salad contains cheese made with animal rennet, obtained from the stomach of a young unweaned calf or goat. Hence, most vegetarians avoid eating it. However, they eat, cheese made with non-animal rennet, eggs, honey, and other dairy items.

Pasta salad can be vegetarian, depending on the ingredients. You must check the ingredients before buying boxed pasta salad or ordering at a restaurant.

Is Pasta Salad Gluten-Free?

It depends on the pasta and the ingredients you are using. Wheat-based pasta is not gluten-free, but chickpea and lentil pasta are gluten-free. So, if you are looking for gluten-free pasta salad, check the ingredients.

Is Pasta Salad Dairy-Free?

Vegan pasta salad is dairy-free. However, the same cannot be said about all pasta salad varieties. Pasta salad is usually made with cheese, making it not dairy-free.

Is Pasta Salad Healthy?

It depends on what you put in your pasta salad. Pasta salads with mayonnaise as their base aren’t healthy. It adds a lot of carbs and fat, making it a bad combination for your health. You can always replace these ingredients with healthier options.

Vegan pasta salad is a much healthier meal compared to traditional pasta salad.

Recipe Image

Vegan Pasta Salad Recipe

Andy Nevers
This recipe uses pepper, red onion, roasted red peppers, olives, grape tomatoes, and homemade Italian dressing. It is a great side dish to go with your vegan main course.
Prep Time 15 minutes
Cook Time 20 minutes
Total Time 35 minutes
Course Side Dish
Cuisine Italian
Servings 15 servings
Calories 206 kcal


  • Cooking Pot (for pasta)
  • Mason jar (for Italian dressing)


  • 5 roasted red peppers
  • 2 green bell peppers (chopped)
  • ½ cup red onions (chopped)
  • 1 cup tomatoes (grape, sprinkles, or cherry tomatoes)
  • 6 oz. canned black olives (drained, rinsed, sliced)
  • 2 cups Italian dressing
  • 1 box rotini whole wheat pasta (use chickpea or lentil pasta for gluten-free salad)
  • 1 box rotini tri color pasta (use chickpea or lentil pasta for gluten-free salad)


  • Cook pasta as per the instructions on the packaging and drain it.
  • Add oil, vinegar, water, basil, oregano, parsley, salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes in a mason jar. Cover the jar with a lid and shake well until the dressing is combined.
  • Add sliced onions and olives, chopped green pepper, roasted red peppers, and tomatoes to the drained pasta.
  • Now pour the homemade dressing into the pasta bowl.
  • Mix well to combine the pasta.
  • The pasta salad is now ready. You can keep it in the refrigerator until ready to serve.



You can also use store-bought vegan dressing instead of homemade dressing.
You can make the pasta in advance and prepare the salad before mixing.
You can add veggies of your choice or remove certain veggies from the above recipe. Some good options are spinach leaves, eggplant, or Brussels sprout. 
You can use other types of pasta in this recipe. 
You can store the pasta in an airtight container for 3-4 days in a refrigerator.
The nutritional information given below is calculated approximately. It may change depending on the quality/quantity of ingredients.
  • Fat: 9g
  • Saturated Fat: 1g
  • Sugar: 4g
  • Carbohydrates: 29g
  • Fiber: 1g
  • Protein: 5g
  • Sodium: 660mg
  • Potassium: 173mg
  • Calcium: 31mg
  • Iron: 1mg
  • Vitamin A: 261IU
  • Vitamin C: 20mg
Keyword Vegan Pasta Salad

Is Macaroni Salad Vegan?

It depends on the ingredients. Traditional macaroni salad contains mayonnaise and cheese, making it non-vegan. You can make your macaroni salad vegan by removing these ingredients.

Is Suddenly Pasta Salad Vegan?

No. Suddenly Pasta salad is not vegan. Suddenly Pasta is owned by Betty Crocker; almost all Betty Crocker’s products are not vegan.

Is Newks Pasta Salad Vegan?

No. Pasta salad at Newks is usually not vegan. It contains eggs and/or dairy products.

Is Harvester Pasta Salad Vegan?

Harvester doesn’t offer vegan pasta salad, but it has a main course pasta dish for vegans. You can have its butternut & spinach pasta topped with pumpkin seeds and served with garlic bread.

Is Taco Pasta Salad Vegan?

Traditionally, it is not vegan. Taco pasta salad is made with beef and cheese. Both vegans and vegetarians can’t eat it. However, some restaurants offer vegan taco pasta salad. You can also make vegan taco pasta salad with plant-based meat.

Is Pasta Sauce Vegan?

It depends on the ingredients. Pasta sauce is vegan as long as it is free from animal-derived ingredients.

Is Dry Pasta Vegan?

Yes. Dry pasta is generally vegan as it is made from wheat and water. Many dry pasta varieties are also made with chickpea and lentil flour.

Is Penne Pasta Vegan?

Yes. Penne pasta is sold as dry pasta, and it is typically vegan. Please note that many brands also make non-vegan penne pasta. You may also find a cross-contamination warning for milk and eggs on the box. So, always go through the ingredients and labels before buying.

Is Chickpea Pasta Vegan?

Yes. Chickpea pasta is mostly vegan. The dry boxes are almost always vegan. However, the same cannot be said about ready-to-eat chickpea pasta.

Is Lentil Pasta Vegan?

Yes. Lentil pasta is mostly vegan. It is made from lentil flour and water.

Is Barilla Pasta Vegan?

Most varieties are vegan. Please note that its ready-to-eat packs are not vegan. Barilla also offers vegan and non-vegan pasta sauces. So, you must always check the ingredients before buying.

Is De Cecco Pasta Vegan?

Yes. De Cecoo offers a lot of vegan pasta variants. However, De Cecoo makes egg pasta as well. So, make sure you check the ingredients before buying.

Is Banza Pasta Vegan?

All variations of Banza’s dry pasta are vegan. However, its pizza and mac & cheese are not always vegan.

Is Pasta Primavera Vegan?

Traditional pasta Primavera is not vegan as it is made with parmesan cheese, lemon cream cheese, and fresh vegetables. You can make it vegan by removing these ingredients or making pasta Primavera at home.

Is Pesto Pasta Vegan?

Traditional pesto pasta is not vegan as it is made with animal-derived ingredients like parmesan cheese. Some restaurants offer vegan pesto pasta. However, you must always check the ingredients before buying.


  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

Leave a Comment

Recipe Rating

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268