Is Marmite Peanut Butter Vegan? [Vegan Concerns Answered]

Yes. Marmite peanut butter is 100% vegan and dairy-free. The good news is that most peanut butter is vegan. However, you must check the ingredients before buying. Some manufacturers may squeeze in some non-vegan ingredients like dairy or honey to give peanut butter a special flavor. Vegetarians can eat such items, but vegans cant.

All Marmite products are vegan except for the 70 grams jar. Marmite is a British brand and comes with strict European regulations. The official response or Marmite’s website is shown in the image below.

The official response or Marmite’s website is shown in the image below.People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals, PETA says that most peanut butter is made from peanuts and salt. Some variants may have added sugar or oil. All of these ingredients are 100% vegan and dairy-free.

Peanuts are rich in monounsaturated fats and proteins. Both these ingredients are good for your health; however, just like all good things, peanut butter must be consumed in moderation.

The Unilever Dilemma – Vegans Concerns Answered

Unilever owns maritime. Many vegans have boycotted Unilever because it produces many non-vegan products. Some people opine that it tests its products on animals. However, Unilever’s official response says that it no longer tests its products on animals and is on its way to becoming a 100% cruelty-free brand.

All these conflicting statements don’t change the fact that Marmite peanut butter is 100% vegan. The decision to eat Marmite peanut butter rests with the consumers. You can buy other peanut butter like Kraft and Sun-Pat as they are 100% vegan and cruelty-free.

Read more: Is Skippy Peanut Butter Vegan?

Marmite Peanut Butter Ingredients 

Here is a list of Marmite peanut butter ingredients. We have already checked each ingredient; vegans can eat it without any worries.

  • Peanuts
  • Yeast extracts powder
  • Peanut oil

Please note that brands introduce some variations from time to time to accommodate demand, seasonal trends, or special tastes. Hence, before buying peanut butter, you must always check for labels and ingredients.

What other products does Marmite offer?

A majority of Marmite products are vegan. The brand offers the following products.

  • Marmite XO Yeast Extract
  • Marmite Spread Yeast Extract (comes in a squeeze variant)
  • Marmite Reduced Salt Yeast Extract
  • Marmite Truffle
  • Marmite Chilli

Is Marmite Smooth Peanut Butter Vegan? 

Yes. It is suitable for vegans and vegetarians alike. The ingredients are all-natural and plant-based.

The ingredients are all-natural and plant-based

Where can I Buy Marmite Peanut Butter? 

Marmite peanut butter is available at supermarkets and grocery stores. You can also get it from Amazon.

Does Marmite Peanut Butter have Lactose? 

No. Marmite peanut butter is free from Lactose. It doesn’t have any sugar in it. Vegans don’t eat white sugar because it may be made using bone char. You must check the ingredients before buying peanut butter, as some brands use processed sugar. Raw sugar or cane sugar is 100% vegan.

Is Marmite Gluten-Free? 

No. Marmite is not gluten-free. Marmite’s major ingredient is an extract from brewer’s yeast arising from beer-making. Beer is usually made from malted barley, wheat, and rye; these items contain gluten. The collected yeast is thoroughly washed, but it may still contain low levels of gluten.

Hence, people allergic to gluten must not eat marmite peanut butter. 

Is Marmite a rich source of Vitamin B12? 

Yes. Marmite is a rich source of vitamin B12. It contains up to 24µg of Vitamin B12 per 100 grams. Vegans can eat it happily as they don’t have enough vitamin B12-rich options. However, you must always eat it in moderation.

Is Peanut Butter with Omega-3 Vegan? 

It depends on the Omega-3 source. Vegans can eat omega-3 if it is plant-based (flaxseed, chia seeds, and walnuts). They cannot eat it if it is animal-based (usually fish and other seafood).


  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

Leave a Comment

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268