Is Lindt Dark Chocolate Vegan? Lindt Vegan Varieties

Some Lindt chocolates are vegan, while some are not. You must always look on the packaging for a definitive list of ingredients to confirm whether a particular Lindt chocolate is vegan.

Vegans prefer dark chocolates over other variations but these delicious and indulging bars are not always 100% vegan. These chocolates are almost always fit for vegetarians but not vegans, as they may contain milk, milk products, milk fat, cream, honey, and sometimes eggs. Some Lindt chocolates may contain shellac. It is a resin secreted by the female lac bug found on trees in forests of Thailand and India.

Why are all Dark Chocolates not Vegan? 

All dark chocolates are not vegan. Even if dark chocolate is 70% cocoa, there is a high chance that it is not dairy-free. A typical Lindt dark chocolate is made from cocoa mass, cocoa butter (plant-based milk), sugar, and soy lecithin (emulsifier).

It may also contain milk, milk products, milk fat, or cream. Even sugar is not 100% vegan if it is refined sugar. Refined sugar involves the use of bone char. Vegans not only abstain from everything coming from animals, but they also don’t consume things that have been made using animal products. Veganism is a lifestyle based on cruelty-free practices and justice for animals.

Are all Lindt Dark Chocolates Vegetarian? 

Lindt’s chocolate products (including Lindor and Excellence ranges) are suitable for vegetarians. These chocolates typically contain milk, milk products, milk fat, cream, and eggs. Some chocolates may contain shellac. All of these ingredients are vegetarian. However, you must check the ingredients on the packaging for confirmation.

However, you must check the ingredients on the packaging for confirmation

Lindt Vegan Dark Chocolate Ingredients 

Vegans and vegetarians must check ingredients whenever they buy something from a store. Lindt’s dark chocolate ingredients may or may not contain animal products. A typical vegan dark chocolate from Lindt usually has the following ingredients.

  • Chocolate
  • Cocoa powder
  • Cocoa butter
  • Demerara sugar
  • Bourbon vanilla beans

All of these are common vegan ingredients. You may not have heard about Demerara sugar if you have recently adopted veganism. Don’t worry. It is 100% vegan. Demerara sugar is a large grain of sugar with some molasses. It is free from bone char. Vegans can consume it without any worries.

Is Lindt Dark Chocolate Vegan? 

It depends on the ingredients. Some are vegan, and some are not. Vegetarians can consume all Lindt chocolate verities. Vegans must check the ingredients before eating Lindt dark chocolate.

See more: Is White Chocolate Vegan? Vegan White Chocolate Brands

Lindt Vegan Chocolate Varieties 

The problem with Lindt vegan chocolate varieties is that you may not find them as commonly as non-vegan varieties. Some particular chocolates may be vegan in one region and non-vegan in another. Hence, you must check the ingredients when buying.

Hence, you must check the ingredients when buying

Lindt USA’s official website lists two dairy-free variants. The problem with both these variants is that they contain refined sugar. Vegans avoid refined sugar because it is made using bone char. These varieties are listed below.

  • Oatmilk salted caramel recipe bar
  • Oatmilk classic recipe chocolate bar

Lindt’s UK website lists 12 vegan chocolates. You may not find them in North America. These varieties are listed below.

  • Lindt hot chocolate
  • Lindt Excellence dark 70%
  • Lindt Excellence dark 85%
  • Lindt Excellence dark 90%
  • Lindt Excellence dark 99%
  • Lindt Excellence raspberry hazelnut 70%
  • Lindt Excellence orange almond 70%
  • Lindt Cooking 70%
  • Lindt Cooking 51%
  • Lindt Classic vegan milk chocolate
  • Lindt Classic vegan hazelnut milk chocolate
  • Lindt Classic vegan milk caramel sea salt chocolate

Similarly, Lindt has a special vegan product line in Sweden. It has 4 products in the vegan category.

  • Lindt Hello vegan milk cookie bar
  • Lindt Hello vegan Santa
  • Lindt Hello vegan milk sweet & salty popcorn bar
  • Lindt Hello vegan milk salted caramel bar

Is Lindt lindor Dark 60% Chocolate Vegan? 

No. It is not vegan. Lindt 60 is hard to find in US stores and online. Its ingredients contain anhydrous milk fat, whole milk powder, skimmed milk powder, lactose, and sugar, along with other ingredients. All of these items are 100% not vegan. Vegetarians can eat, but vegans cannot. A detailed list of ingredients can be seen here.

A detailed list of ingredients can be seen here

Is Lindt 78 Dark Chocolate Vegan? 

No. It is not vegan. It contains anhydrous milk fat, which is non-vegan. It also contains sugar. Lindt has not specified the type of sugar. It is probably refined sugar. Refined sugar is processed using bone char. Bone char is not vegan. You can check all its ingredients here.

You can check all its ingredients here

Is Lindt 85% Dark Chocolate Vegan? 

Yes. It is 100% vegan. The ingredients include chocolate, cocoa powder, cocoa butter, demerara sugar, and bourbon vanilla beans. All of these ingredients are 100% vegan. Lindt 85 is commonly available in North American stores and online.

Lindt 85 is commonly available in North American stores and online

Is sugar in Lindt chocolate vegan? 

It depends on the variety you are buying. Some Lindt chocolates have demerara sugar, and some have refined sugar. Demerara sugar is 100% vegan, while refined sugar is not.

Does Lindt follow ethical standards while sourcing its chocolates? 

As a vegan, knowing that the food you consume is sourced ethically is critical. Vegans ensure that animals and humans are not hurt in any way and that their food doesn’t exploit or involve child labor.

Lindt has been working on this front recently. It ensures sustainability and zero child labor when sourcing cocoa beans.


  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

Leave a Comment

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268