Is Land O Lakes Margarine Vegan? Land O Lakes Undercover Investigation

Land O Lakes offers a plant-based variant that is 100% vegan and gluten-free. However, it comes with a cross-contamination warning for milk and some controversial ingredients.

for milk and some controversial ingredients

Let’s see Land O Lakes plant-based Creamy Spread’s ingredients.

Land O Lakes Plant-Based Creamy Spread Ingredients 

  • Vegetable Oils (soybean & palm)
  • Water
  • Salt
  • Soy Lecithin
  • Mono And Diglycerides (emulsifiers)
  • Natural Flavor
  • Lactic Acid
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Beta-Carotene (color)

Ingredient Analysis: Land O Lakes plant-based creamy spread is labeled vegan by Land O Lakes, and you’ll commonly see it listed as vegan in stores and online. On the contrary, many strict vegans may not eat it because of the controversial ingredients.

First, it contains palm oil. Land O Lakes has not specified the source of palm oil and whether it obtains palm oil from sustainable sources. Palm oil production has damaged the natural habitat of many animals and also impacted the environment due to deforestation.

Second, it has vitamin A palmitate. Vitamin A comes from both plant and animal sources. Land O Lakes has not mentioned the source from where it gets vitamin A palmitate, making it another controversial ingredient.

Verdict: Land O Lakes is vegan but with controversial ingredients. Vegans may or may not choose to eat it, depending on how strictly they follow veganism. Being vegan is not only about your diet. It is a complete lifestyle based on cruelty-free practices and justice for animals.

Land O Lakes Undercover Investigation 

People for the ethical treatment of animals (PETA) conducted an undercover investigation inside Land O Lakes supplier facility in Pennsylvania. The investigation revealed neglect and cruelty to cows.

You can see in the video above that cows are treated cruelly, being kicked around, and live in pathetic conditions. All such practices are against humanity, let alone veganism. You don’t need to be a vegan to feel the cows’ pain and suffering.

On the other hand, Land O Lakes has outlined sustainability dairy commitments. These commitments promise on-farm best practices for animals.

Vegan Margarine Options 

There are many margarine options for vegans. Let’s check them out.

MIYOKO’S CREAMERY Organic Salted Vegan Butter

Miyoko’s creamery is 100% vegan and organic buttery spread. It is made with USDA organic-certified ingredients and is gluten-free. The major ingredients are coconut oil and cashew milk. The best part about this butter is that it has no controversial ingredients.

MIYOKO'S CREAMERY Organic Salted Vegan Butter

I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter

I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter comes in various variations like original, vegan, light, original spray, and baking stick. Its vegan pack is free from animal-derived ingredients.

I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter

Earth Balance Original Buttery Spread

Earth Balance’s buttery spread is also 100% vegan and gluten-free. You can use it as a vegan substitute for dairy butter/margarine. The spread tastes great with toasts and snacks.

Earth Balance’s buttery spread

Kite Hill Plant-Based Butter Alternative

Kite Hill’s European-style butter alternative is 100% vegan and free from dairy ingredients. Kite Hill has many variants and products. So, don’t forget to check the ingredients before buying.

Kite Hill’s European-style butter alternative

Is Land O Lakes Plant-Based Margarine Healthy? 

Land O Lakes is free from sugar and carbohydrates but contains vegetable oil, 11 grams of fat, and 100 calories per tablespoon. It is healthy if you eat it in moderation.

Where can I buy Land O Lakes Plant-Based Margarine? 

Land O Lakes is an American brand. It is commonly available in stores and online.

How to identify a Vegan Margarine? 

All you have to do is check the ingredients. Brands that use sustainable and organic ingredients usually mention it in the ingredients section or as separate labels on the packaging. You must avoid the following ingredients to ensure you buy 100% vegan margarine.

  • Whey
  • Lactose
  • Tallow
  • Animal fat
  • Casein
  • Suet
  • Marine oil
  • Lecithin (vegan if it is soy lecithin)
  • Vitamin D3

Is Imperial Margarine Vegan?

Imperial margarine has no dairy ingredients, but it has some controversial ingredients like palm oil and vitamin A palmitate. Many vegans don’t eat it because the source of these ingredients has not been specified by

Is Stork Margarine Vegan?

Yes. Stork margarine is vegan. Stork also has palm oil and vitamin A & D, but these ingredients are 100% plant-based and obtained via sustainable farming. Some people may still refuse to eat Stork because it comes from Unilever. Unilever has been involved in animal testing. However, the company has clearly stated that it doesn’t test any of its products on animals anymore.

Is Country Crock Margarine Vegan? 

Country Crock’s plant-based butter is vegan but has some controversial ingredients. So, it is up to you if you want to have it.

Is Blue Bonnet Margarine Vegan?

Blue Bonnet Light Margarine is free from animal-derived ingredients but contains palm oil and vitamin A palmitate. Since Blue Bonnet has not identified the source of these ingredients, you cannot be sure if they are plant-based or sourced via sustainable farming.

Is Becel Margarine Vegan?

Becel’s vegan pack and oat milk variations are 100% vegan. It has a lot of variations, so make sure you check the ingredients before buying.


  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

Leave a Comment

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268