Is Guar Gum Vegan? What is it? Uses & Alternatives

Guar gum is 100% vegan and contains no dairy, animal-derived, or byproducts that involve hurting animals.

Guar Gum is famous among vegans owing to its many uses. This article explains everything you need to know about guar gum!

explains everything you need to know about guar gum

What is Guar Gum, and how is it Made? 

Guar gum is a popular food additive found in many products. It is a common ingredient in gluten-free items. European products mention guar gum as E412. Guar gum is extracted from the seeds of a guar bean plant. The plant is cultivated in vast areas in India and Pakistan, and small farms are located in the US, Australia, and some parts of Africa.

Guar gum is also known as guar flour and guaran. It is made by separating the endosperm of the guar bean from the bean. It is then processed into a fine white-yellow powdery substance. The powder is then packed in air-tight packets and shipped to different locations.

Guar Gum Uses – Why is Guar Gum Considered Vegan?

Guar gum, like tapioca flour, locust bean gum, and cornstarch, is a stabilizer and thickening agent in many eatables. The common food items containing guar gum include baked goods, dairy products, dairy substitutes, jams, sauces, and dressings. You will be surprised to know that guar gum is also used in non-food items such as clothing, toothpaste, cosmetics, paper industry, pharmaceuticals, shale oil, and gas extraction.

pharmaceuticals, shale oil, and gas extraction

Is Guar Gum unhealthy? 

Guar gum is usually harmless to your health unless you consume it in large amounts. Its amount in processed vegan foods or vegan recipes is low. It will not hurt you in any way. The possible side effects of guar gum are bloating and gas.

FDA and EU food standard bodies have approved guar gum. You don’t need to worry about its safety because these organizations work round the clock to ensure people eat healthy food.

Ongoing research has proven that guar gum is good for constipation and diarrhea because it regulates the moisture content in the stool. It is has shown to be beneficial for people with high cholesterol, high blood pressure, and long-term stomach pain. Studies have shown that guar gum is effective in treating insulin-dependent diabetes.

Many people say that guar gum helps in weight loss. It has not been proven in any research or experimentation till now. The FDA has also banned weight loss treatments with guar gum.

Guar Gum – A perfect Gluten Replacement 

Guar gum is regarded as the best gluten replacement for a vegan. Vegans focus on a cruelty-free extraction process and ensuring that their diet doesn’t hurt animals in any way; strict vegans avoid milk, eggs, honey, and other dairy byproducts.

Gluten is vegan. Most experts claim that it is safe for everyone except people having celiac disease, while some dieticians suggest that gluten is harmful to most people. An article published in Business Insider explains 6 reasons why everyone should avoid eating gluten.

Guar gum’s popularity as a gluten alternative has soared recently because it replicates yogurt texture and prevents plant-based milk from curdling.

prevents plant-based milk from curdling

Is Guar Gum Better than other Vegan Alternatives? 

There are plenty of guar gum alternatives. Let’s compare the popular ones with guar gum!

Gelatin vs. Guar Gum 

Gelatin is derived from animal connective tissue. It is a big no for vegans and vegetarians. Guar gum is often used as a gelatin alternative to improve the food’s consistency. It provides the fulfilling feeling that you can’t get without gelatin.

Guar gum is mixed in water to be used as a gelatin substitute. Depending on the recipe, it is usually needed less than gelatin.

Agar vs. Guar Gum

Agar or agar agar is a vegan gelling agent. It is quite similar to guar gum, but it is way more costly. Agar agar is not used commonly because it is unaffordable as an ingredient. Moreover, it has nothing extra than guar gum. So, there is no point in spending too much money when you can have a quality, cheaper alternative.

Flax Seeds vs. Guar Gum

Flax seeds are used in many vegan recipes as an egg replacement. Flax seeds are similar to guar gum and must be grounded and mixed before use. Flax seeds are not as powerful binding agents as guar gum but are frequently used in gluten-free baking.

Chia Seeds vs. Guar Gum

Chia seeds are a famous ingredient in vegan cooking. These tiny seeds contain proteins, antioxidants, omega-3, fiber, and calcium. Chia seeds don’t require grinding before adding to flour bends. These seeds have a mild nutty flavor that doesn’t impact the overall taste of your recipe.

Guar gum is an equally effective binding agent, but it is slightly cheaper than chia seeds.

Psyllium Husk Powder vs. Guar Gum

Psyllium husk powder or psyllium fiber is a powerful binding agent and retains liquid well. It is very effective in tall baked goods. However, it also renders a powerful taste or texture in the recipes. Many homeowners complain about it and prefer using guar gum in vegan and gluten-free recipes.

Xanthan Gum vs. Guar Gum

Xanthan gum is a synthetic vegan product used alongside and as a substitute for guar gum.

Guar gum is preferred over xanthan gum because it has more shelf life than guar gum. It is also cheaper than xanthan gum.

Where can I buy Guar Gum? 

Guar gum is not something that you’ll have to search for. It is commonly available in grocery stores, vegan food stores, and online.

vegan food stores, and online


  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

Leave a Comment

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268