Is Egg White Vegan? Natural and Commercial Vegan Egg Substitutes

Egg white is not vegan. Egg yolk is not vegan. Anything from animals, milk, fat, dairy products, honey, beeswax, and animal wool is not vegan.

However, all these things are vegetarians.

The dietary content is the only thing separating an egg white from an egg. Egg whites are low in fats and calories with high protein content, making them the healthiest part of an egg. Many athletes and fitness freaks eat egg white as their daily diet.

Many athletes and fitness freaks eat egg white as their daily diet.

Natural Vegan Substitutes for Egg Whites 

Vegans don’t need to worry about missing egg whites from their diet. They can fulfill the protein intake from various sources. Here is a list of the some foods vegans can consume instead of eggs or use in recipes.

Peanut Butter: Peanut Butter is rich in proteins and monounsaturated fats. You need only ¼ cup of vegan peanut butter to make up to 19% of your daily protein intake. PETA says that most peanut butter is vegan. However, you must check the ingredients to be 100% sure.

Flaxseed: Flaxseed is a common ingredient in many vegan recipes. It is rich in proteins, Omega-3, and fiber. You can add 1 tbsp. flaxseed in 3 tbsp. water and mix it well to make an egg substitute. Let it sit for 5 minutes before using it in recipes.

Aquafaba: The leftover liquid from chickpeas is an amazing egg substitute. Chickpeas are a staple ingredient in hummus. You just need to whip the leftover liquid and use 2 tbsp. to replace one egg white or 3 tbsp. to replace a whole egg. It gives a fluffy and frothy texture.

Banana: Bananas are rich in potassium, but it also contains carbohydrates. You can use ripe bananas instead of eggs in pancakes and vegan brownies.

Chia Seeds: Chia seeds are similar to flaxseeds. You need 3 tbsp. chia seeds mixed in 3 tbsp. water to replace one egg in your recipe. Make sure you whip the mixture and let it sit for 10-15 minutes before using it in the recipe.

Applesauce: Simply use 3-4 tbsp. applesauce to replace one egg in your recipe. Applesauce isn’t rich in proteins but contains a good amount of fiber.

Tofu: Tofu is also a staple ingredient in many vegan recipes. It is made from soybean curd. The best thing about tofu is that it is protein-rich; 100 grams contains 8 grams of protein. Tofu is readily available online and in food supermarkets.

Tofu is readily available online and in food supermarkets.

Baking Powder and Oil: Mix 2 tbsp. baking powder, 1 tbsp. vegetable oil and 1 tbsp. water as a replacement for 1 egg. It is recommended for cookie recipes.

Starches: You can also go for commercial vegan egg substitutes. Make sure you check the label and ingredients before buying them, and follow the instructions on the packaging for using them in your recipe.

4 Readymade Vegan Substitutes for Egg Whites 

Vegan Egg Replacer by Ener-G: It is a gluten-free, nut-free and non-GMO egg replacer. It is a favorite among vegans.

It is a favorite among vegans.

Orgran – Egg Replacer: Another popular vegan egg replacer, it is 100% plant-based, gluten-free and non-GMO.

it is 100% plant-based, gluten-free and non-GMO.

Bobs Red Mill Egg Replacer: It is gluten-free and made from potato starch, tapioca flour, baking soda, and psyllium husk fiber. Plus, it is also the most affordable.

and psyllium husk fiber. Plus, it is also the most affordable.

The Vegg – Vegan Egg Baking Mix: It comes from a 100% vegan brand and a small business. The taste is amazing it is also affordable.

The taste is amazing it is also affordable.

Why do Vegans avoid Eggs? 

Veganism is not about the food you consume. It is a complete lifestyle based on cruelty-free practices and ethical standards. Vegans don’t wear clothes, use cosmetics or eat medicines made from animal byproducts. Some vegans don’t use things that have a cross-contamination risk. Many vegans also boycott companies that do animal testing or slaughter animals.

Here are a few reasons why vegans don’t eat chicken eggs.

  • Inhumane chicken treatment at poultry farms
  • Artificial insemination of female chickens
  • No treatment for diseases
  • Dead chickens are not removed from farms
  • Genetic modification to produce more meat

Are Egg Whites Gluten-Free? 

Yes. Egg whites are naturally gluten-free. However, some commercial non-veg egg powders may contain gluten due to cross-contamination. You must always check the labels to ensure that it is gluten-free.

Author

  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

Leave a Comment

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268