Yes. Most dry pasta varieties are vegan as they are made from flour and water. However, depending on the ingredients, many dry pastas can be non-vegan. You may see a cross-contamination warning on many boxes of dry pasta.
The fresh pasta (refrigerated) sold in tins or packed form is usually not vegan unless specified. Vegans must check ingredients, labels, and cross-contamination warning before buying dry pasta from stores or online.
Best Dried Vegan Pasta Brands
There are so many brands offering vegan pasta. Please note that some of these products may have a cross-contamination warning for dairy and eggs. So, don’t forget to check the labels and avoid such brands if you are a strict vegan.
Chickapea’s pasta is USDA-organic certified, vegan and gluten-free. It is made from organic chickpea flour, organic yellow and red lentil flour. The pasta is rich in protein and fiber but low in carbs, making it great for vegan and keto diets. It is available in spiral, elbow, linguine, penne, shells, and spaghetti variants.
Barilla is one of the most famous pasta brands in the world. Its chickpea pasta is 100% vegan. It is made from only chickpea flour, so you don’t have to worry about cross-contamination or inorganic ingredients. Many of Barilla’s products don’t have non-vegan ingredients but carry a “may contain eggs” warning.
Running on a budget? Get this economical vegan spaghetti pasta from L’Oro del Sud with a perfect Italian taste. All of its product range is Kosher, but some may not be vegan. So, look for ingredients before buying. This pasta is preservative-free and made from 100% organic ingredients.
It is made from organic edamame, soy, and black soybeans. It is 100% vegan, and USDA-organic certified. The pasta is gluten-free and made from Non-GMO ingredients. It is also best for a keto diet as it has 50% fewer carbs than most pasta you find in stores.
The pasta dinner is filled with almond milk ricotta, vegan breadcrumbs, garlic, cornstarch, and other vegan ingredients. All the ingredients are 100% vegan and organic. Kite Hill is a famous vegan brand, but it has cross-contamination warning for eggs and milk.
Barilla’s gluten-free pasta is also 100% vegan, just like its chickpea pasta. It is made from corn and rice flour to give you an authentic Italian pasta taste. Not only penne but Barilla’s all pasta variants are vegan.
The plant-based vegan pasta is gluten-free and USDA organic certified. The ingredients include chickpeas, pea starch, tapioca, and xanthan gum. This variety pack is a great option for pasta lovers.
Made from organic green mung bean and water, Explore Cuisine’s organic pasta is an excellent option for vegans. The best part; it is owned by a small business that is 100% organic and plant-based, meaning you don’t have to worry about cross-contamination and non-vegan ingredients.
Jovial’s pasta is imported from Italy and made from 100% organic and vegan ingredients. It is USDA organic certified, gluten-free and kosher. It tastes so good that you’ll fall in love when you have a bite.
It is a great option for a vegan mac and pasta dinner. All the ingredients are USDA-organic certified, gluten-free, and 100% vegan. Annie’s also makes non-vegan products, so check ingredients and labels before buying.
What is Dry Pasta made of?
Dry pasta is usually made from flour and water. You can also find dry pasta made from chickpeas or lentils.
How can I tell if my Pasta is 100% Vegan?
Dry Pasta: You need to check the ingredients and labels. Avoid pasta with egg white or yolk, whey, or dairy in it. Most dry pasta is made from flour and water. So, the chance that you’ll buy non-vegan pasta is very low. Some pasta may have squid ink as a warning because it is used to die the pasta. Squid ink is non-vegan.
Some dry pasta may contain calcium phosphate, monoglycerides, and iron lactate. These ingredients can be vegan if they are plant-based or organic.
Eating Out: Ask the restaurant staff to make your pasta vegan using plant-based ingredients. However, there is a high chance of cross-contamination when eating out. Restaurants use the same equipment to prepare vegan and non-vegan foods.
Yes. Lentil Pasta is mostly vegan. It may be non-vegan if it has animal-derived ingredients.
Yes. Most chickpea pasta is free from animal-derived ingredients. However, you must always check ingredients and for cross-contamination warning for eggs and milk.
It is vegan if there are no animal-derived ingredients like cheese, chicken, or non-vegan sauce.
Pesto pasta may or may not be vegan. Don’t forget to check the ingredients and ask the staff to make it vegan.
Yes. Banza offers a lot of vegan variants, but they have a cross-contamination warning for eggs.
Most Barilla pasta is vegan, but some variants come with a “may contain milk” warning.
Penne Pasta is sold as dry pasta, and it is mostly vegan. You cannot be sure about it unless you check the ingredients.
De Cecco pasta comes in vegan and non-vegan packs. You need to check the ingredients on the particular variant to confirm it is vegan.
Yes and no. Pasta Primavera may or may not be vegan, depending on the ingredients.
Many pasta sauce varieties are vegan. For example, Barilla has 5 vegan and 2 non-vegan pasta sauces. You cannot be sure unless you check labels and ingredients.