Is Burger King and McDonald’s Ketchup Vegan? Ketchup Ingredients & Vegan Options

Burger King: Yes. Burger King’s ketchup is vegan. Most ketchup at Burger King is vegan unless you go for a variant with honey or animal-derived ingredients.

McDonald’s: McDonald’s ketchup is vegan. However, it may introduce special flavors from time to time that may contain honey or other animal-derived ingredients.

Burger King Ketchup Ingredients 

Burger King uses Heinz Ketchup. The ingredients are

  • Red ripe tomatoes
  • Distilled vinegar
  • High fructose corn syrup
  • Salt
  • Spice
  • Onion powder
  • Natural flavoring (plant-based)

Burger King Ketchup Ingredients

McDonald’s Ketchup Ingredients 

Here is the list of McDonald’s ketchup ingredients.

  • 60% tomato puree
  • Glucose-fructose syrup
  • Spirit vinegar
  • Salt
  • Spice extracts

Eating Vegan at Burger King 

Burger King has a lot of options for its vegan customers. Some of its items are 100% vegan, and some can be made vegan by removing animal-derived ingredients but with a cross-contamination warning. The following options are 100% vegan and certified by the vegan society.

  • Vegan Nuggets
  • Vegan Royale
  • Plant-Based Whooper

The following can be made vegan by swapping some ingredients.

  • French Toast Sticks
  • Hash Brown
  • Single Impossible King; order without cheese
  • Impossible Whopper; order without mayo
  • French Fries; without mayo or cheese
  • Garden Side Salad; without cheese or croutons
  • Applesauce

Is the Mayonnaise in Burger King’s Vegan Foods Vegan?

Yes. Burger King serves Vegan Royale and Plant-Based Whopper with vegan mayonnaise.

Eating Vegan at McDonald’s

The options are limited when it comes to eating vegan at McDonald’s. Even their fries have a natural beef flavor. However, you can have the following vegan items at McDonald’s but make sure you check the ingredients and discuss them with the restaurant staff.

  • Fruit and Maple Oatmeal
  • Side Salad; without any animal-derived ingredients or cheese
  • Apple slices
  • Baked Apple Pie
  • Drinks; a few of them

Some Other Vegan Ketchup Brands

There is no shortage of vegan ketchup. Here are some of the options you can give a try.

How to make sure that you always buy Vegan Ketchup? 

Ketchup is mostly vegan. However, many non-vegan flavors are commonly seen in stores and online. You can check for the following ingredients to ensure you don’t buy non-vegan ketchup.

  • Honey
  • Sugar (vegan if it is organic)
  • Activated carbon (bone char)

Is Heinz Ketchup Vegan? 

Yes. All Heinz ketchup variants except Heinz Tomato Ketchup Sweetened only with Honey are vegan. It contains honey as an ingredient. Honey is animal-derived, and vegans don’t eat it.

Is Aldi Ketchup Vegan? 

Yes. Aldi ketchup is vegan, but you must always check the ingredients, as Aldi may introduce a non-vegan flavor from time to time in response to seasonal trends or high demand.

Is Primal Ketchup Vegan? 

Yes. Primal’s Organic Unsweetened Ketchup is vegan.

Is Leon’s Ketchup Vegan? 

Yes. It is vegan. Leon’s ketchup has sugar, but vegans don’t have to worry as it is 100% organic and free from bone char.

Is Annie’s Organic Ketchup Vegan? 

Yes. It is vegan. On its website, Annie has mentioned checking the ingredients and nutritional values on the packaging to ensure that you buy 100% vegan ketchup.

Is Hunt Ketchup Vegan? 

Yes. Hunt Ketchup is vegan. Hunt uses high-fructose corn syrup to sweeten its ketchup. It is 100% vegan and free from animal-derived ingredients.

Is Plant-Based Ketchup always Vegan?

No. Plant-based ketchup is not always vegan. Ketchup can be plant-based but still have sugar (processed using bone char) or honey. You must make sure that there is no animal-derived ingredient in the ketchup.

Is there Dairy in Ketchup? 

No. Ketchup is usually free from dairy.


  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

Leave a Comment

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268