Is Blue Bonnet Margarine Vegan? Ingredient Analysis + Alternative

Blue Bonnet is a famous margarine brand. You will find many conflicting statements about Blue Bonnet being vegan or not. For example, a user on Reddit mentioned that he has been using Blue Bonnet Light Spread (commonly believed to be vegan margarine) for years, but he recently found that it contains Vitamin A Palmitate.

The problem with Vitamin A Palmitate is it can be vegan or not vegan. Since Blue Bonnet has not clearly mentioned the source of Vitamin A in its margarine, this puts Blue Bonnet Light Spread on the gray list. When a product has controversial ingredients, its usage depends on how strictly you follow veganism. Moreover, you don’t need to risk your vegan diet when plenty of 100% vegan margarine options are available.

Let’s check out Blue Bonnet margarine varieties and their ingredients to see if they suit vegans.

Blue Bonnet Margarine Variants 

  • Blue Bonnet Original Stick
  • Blue Bonnet Light Stick
  • Blue Bonnet Original Soft Spread
  • Blue Bonnet Light Soft Spread
  • Blue Bonnet Calcium Soft Spread

Blue Bonnet Margarine Variants

Blue Bonnet Margarine Ingredients

These variants more or less have the same ingredients. A typical list of ingredients looks like the following.

  • Water
  • Soybean Oil
  • Palm Oil
  • Palm Kernel Oil
  • Salt
  • Emulsifiers (Mono- And Diglycerides, Soy Lecithin, Propylene Glycol Monostearate)
  • Preservatives (Sodium Benzoate, Potassium Sorbate, Calcium Disodium Edta)
  • Whey
  • Citric Acid
  • Natural And Artificial Flavors
  • Vitamin A Palmitate
  • Beta Carotene (Color)

Let’s see which ingredients are not vegan!

Palm Oil: Palm oil is technically vegan (ethically not) as it is derived from animal sources and free from animal products. However, palm oil production has damaged the environment and the natural habitat of many animals. Many vegans restrain from buying products made using palm oil. Veganism is not only about the food you eat; it stands for cruelty-free practices and justice for animals.

Preservatives: Blue Bonnet hasn’t mentioned the source of preservatives it uses in its margarine. Hence, we can’t say anything about the preservatives being vegan.

Whey: Whey is 100% not vegan as it is derived from animal milk. Vegetarians can eat products made from whey, but vegans cant.

Natural And Artificial Flavors: Again, it is a controversial ingredient. Blue Bonnet has not mentioned the source of these flavors.

Vitamin A Palmitate: Blue Bonnet hasn’t clearly defined the source of Vitamin A Palmitate it uses. The image below, taken from Blue Bonnet’s official website, shows its stance on Vitamin A Palmitate’s source.

shows its stance on Vitamin A Palmitate’s source

Blue Bonnet Light Margarine Ingredients: Blue Bonnet Light Margarine is free from whey but contains Vitamin A Palmitate and Palm Oil. These ingredients don’t put away vegan concerns. Moreover, many vegans abstain from using products from brands that make non-vegan items.

Vegan Margarine Brands 

You are in luck. There are plenty of brands that offer 100% vegan margarine. Let’s check them out.

I Can’t Believe It’s Not Butter! ®: It offers a vegan option that is 100% dairy-free. It is tasty, creamy, and fluffy. You can read more about it here.

Earth Balance Vegan Buttery Sticks: You can use Earth Balance’s vegan buttery sticks as an alternative to margarine. It is a staple for many vegans. Make sure you check the vegan label before buying it. You can order it here.

MIYOKO’S CREAMERY Organic Salted Vegan Butter: Another tasty and 100% vegan alternative, it is made with coconut and cashew milk. Moreover, it is USDA organic certified and gluten-free. Check it out here.

Kite Hill Plant-Based Butter Alternative: Go for Kite Hill’s plant-based butter alternative if you are unsure about other brands. It is made from almond milk, coconut oil, and natural flavors. It is commonly available in stores and online.


Is Imperial Margarine Vegan?

No. Imperial Margarine is not vegan. It contains some ingredients that aren’t vegan. Moreover, some variants may contain whey as well.

Is Stork Margarine Vegan?

Some Stork products are suitable for vegans, and some are not. Make sure you check the labels and ingredients on the packaging before buying.

Is Country Crock Margarine Vegan?

Country Crock Plant Butter is suitable for vegans (claimed by the official website). You can read more about its products being vegan or not here. Some vegans may not eat Country Crock margarine because it contains some controversial ingredients.

Is Becel Margarine Vegan? 

Yes, Becel Margarine is 100% vegan. It has a creamy texture and is suited for spreading, cooking, and baking.

Is Land O Lakes Margarine Vegan?

Yes. Land O Lakes margarine is 100% vegan, gluten-free and Kosher. You can enjoy it as much as you like.


  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

Leave a Comment

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268