Barilla pasta is mostly vegan. Many of their variations are free from animal-derived products like milk and eggs. However, some variations may have eggs and milk. So, you must always check the ingredients before buying Barilla.
Barilla Pasta Ingredients
Barilla offers over 100 pasta variations. It is impossible to mention the ingredients for each of them. Vegans need to know that Barilla uses milk and eggs in some variants. Hence, they must always check the ingredients before buying Barilla products. Moreover, there is always a risk of cross-contamination in products from a brand that simultaneously produces vegan and non-vegan items.
Vegan/Non Vegan Barilla Pasta Variants
Barilla Penne Pasta: It is not vegan. Barilla’s official website mentions that it may contain eggs. However, it is suitable for vegetarians. You can read more about it here.
Barilla Tri Color Pasta: It is manufactured on equipment that processes products containing eggs. While this variant is technically vegan, it comes with a cross-contamination warning. Strict vegans don’t eat items with cross-contamination warning.
Barilla Farfalle: It may also contain eggs, making it unfit for vegans. However, vegetarians can have as much as they like because it is free from fish.
Barilla Lasagna: Barilla lists four different lasagna variants. Let’s see which of them is vegan!
- Gluten-free Oven Ready Lasagna: Vegan. The ingredients section mentions that it is free from peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, milk, fish, mollusks, crustacean, soy, wheat, cereals, and gluten.
- Oven-Ready Lasagna: It is not vegan because it contains eggs.
- Wavy Lasagna: No, It is not vegan as it is manufactured on equipment that processes products containing eggs.
- Whole Grain Lasagna: Yes. It is 100% vegan, egg and dairy-free. It is made from whole-grain durum wheat flour. Vegans can have it without any worries.
Barilla Gluten-Free Pasta: Barilla Gluten-free pasta is available in 6 different variations. These variations are listed below. All of the gluten-free options are 100% vegan.
- Barilla Gluten-free Elbow Pasta
- Barilla Gluten-free Fettuccine
- Barilla Gluten-free Oven-ready Lasagna
- Barilla Gluten-free Penne
- Barilla Gluten-free Rotini
- Barilla Gluten-free Spaghetti
Barilla Whole Grain Pasta: Barilla whole grain pasta comes in 7 different variations. Let’s see which of them is vegan.
- Elbows: Vegan
- Lasagna: Vegan
- Linguine: Vegan
- Penne: Vegan
- Rotini: Vegan
- Spaghetti: Vegan
- Thin Spaghetti: Vegan
Barilla Elbow Pasta: It depends on the type of elbow pasta under consideration. For example, Barilla gluten-free, and whole-grain elbow pasta is vegan. Some other elbow pasta varieties may not be vegan. Hence, you must always check labels/ingredients.
Barilla Protein Pasta: Barilla Protein Pasta is available in 7 different variations. All of them are not vegan.
- Angel Hair: Not Vegan
- Elbows: Not Vegan
- Farfalle: Not Vegan
- Penne: Not Vegan
- Rotini: Not Vegan
- Spaghetti: Not Vegan
- Thin Spaghetti: Not Vegan
Barilla Spaghetti Pasta: It may or may not be vegan. Barilla gluten-free and whole-grain spaghetti pasta is vegan whereas veggie spaghetti and protein variants are not vegan. You must check the ingredients before buying Barilla Spaghetti pasta.
Barilla Angel Hair Pasta: Some variations are vegan while some are not. For example, Barilla Protein angle hair spaghetti is not vegan.
Barilla Classic Blue Box: Barilla Classic Blue Box comes in over 25 different shapes. Some of them are vegan, while some are not. Some variants may don’t have non-vegan ingredients but may contain eggs due to production on the same equipment that produces non-vegan variants.
Barilla Al Bronzo: Barilla Al Bronzo pasta comes in 6 different variations. All of them are not vegan. However, all of the 6 variations are vegetarian.
Barilla Collezione Pasta: It comes in 8 different variations. Out of the 8, only 1, Barilla Collezoine Orecchiette is vegan.
Barilla Legume Pasta: It is available in 6 different variations. Let’s check which variations are vegan.
- Barilla Chickpea Penne: Vegan
- Barilla Chickpea Rotini: Vegan
- Barilla Chickpea Spaghetti: Vegan
- Barilla Red Lentil Penne: Vegan
- Barilla Red Lentil Rotini: Vegan
- Barilla Red Lentil Spaghetti: Vega
Barilla Ready Pasta: It is available in 4 different variations. Unfortunately, all four of them are not vegan.
Barilla Veggie Pasta: It comes in rotini and spaghetti variations. Don’t be enticed by the “veggie” in its name. Barilla clearly states on its website that Barilla Veggie Pasta may contain eggs.
Barilla Pasta Sauce Vegan: Barilla’s sauces are equally famous. It offers a total of 6 sauces (4 vegan & 2 non-vegan). Let’s see which is vegan.
- Fire Roasted Marina: Vegan
- Marinara: Vegan
- Roasted Garlic: Vegan
- Tomato & Basil: Vegan
- Traditional: Vegan
- Creamy Genovese Pesto Pasta Sauce: Not Vegan
- Rustic Basil Pesto Pasta Sauce: Not Vegan
Is Barilla Pasta Cruelty-Free?
Yes. Barilla is cruelty-free. It obtains its ingredients via sustainable farming and always uses organic ingredients.
Is Barilla Pasta Gluten-Free?
Some Barilla Pasta is gluten-free. Please note that gluten is a vegan product and has nothing to do with being vegan. Many people avoid gluten because they are allergic to it.
Is Barilla Pasta Kosher?
Yes. All Barilla pasta is Kosher.
Is Barilla Pasta good on Keto Diet?
No. Barilla pasta is rich in carbohydrates. It is not suitable if you are following a Keto diet.
Is Dry Pasta Vegan?
Pasta dried to make it shelf-stable is known as dried pasta. The majority of dried pasta you find in stores is vegan. But you cannot be certain about all dry pasta. Hence, you must always check labels and ingredients before buying.
Is Pasta Sauce Vegan?
It depends on the ingredients. Most tomato-based pasta source is vegan. However, many sauces have eggs, cream, milk, bacon, or chicken flavor. So, don’t forget to check the ingredients before buying a pasta sauce.
Is Pasta Primavera Vegan?
It depends on the ingredients. So, make sure you check the ingredients before eating.
Is De Cecco Pasta Vegan?
De Cecco pasta is famous among many Americans. They offer vegan and non-vegan variants. So, make sure you check the ingredients before buying De Cecco pasta.
Is Penne Pasta Vegan?
Penne pasta is usually sold as dry pasta. It can be vegan or non-vegan, depending on the ingredients.
Is Banza Pasta Vegan?
Many Banza pasta variants are vegan. However, you must always check the ingredients before buying.
Is Pesto Pasta Vegan?
It depends on the ingredients. Don’t forget to check the ingredients when ordering Pesto pasta.
Is Pasta Salad Vegan?
Yes. It is vegan if pasta and all the other ingredients are vegan. You can be certain if you make a salad at home, but you can’t be sure when eating out. Hence, always ask the restaurant staff
Is Chickpea Pasta Vegan?
Yes. Most chickpea pasta is vegan unless it has no extra flavor or non-vegan ingredients.
Is Lentil Pasta Vegan?
Yes. Lentil pasta is vegan as long as it doesn’t have a non-vegan ingredient.
Conclusion: Can Vegans eat Barilla Pasta?
Yes. Many Barilla pasta varieties are vegan and Barilla is a cruelty-free brand. However, many people don’t eat Barilla because it makes non-vegan pasta and frequently uses milk and eggs in many recipes. It all depends on how strictly you follow veganism.