Are Thomas Bagels Vegan? Ingredients and Vegan Varieties

Most Thomas’ Bagels are vegan, but you must always check the ingredients before buying. Some varieties may contain animal-derived ingredients. Moreover, Thomas’ Bagels are not labeled as vegan by any vegan society.

Bagels are not labeled as vegan by any vegan society

Thomas’ Bagels Ingredients

Unbleached Enriched Wheat Flour [Flour, Malted Barley Flour, Reduced Iron, Niacin, Thiamin Mononitrate (Vitamin B1), Riboflavin (Vitamin B2), Folic Acid], Water, Sugar, Yeast, Salt, Wheat Gluten, Cornmeal, Monoglycerides, Preservatives (Calcium Propionate, Sorbic Acid), Cellulose Gum, Xanthan Gum, Cornstarch, Soy Flour.

Thomas’ Bagels are available in many different tastes and flavors. Hence, you must always check the ingredients before buying.

Verdict: The only controversial ingredient in Thomas’ Bagels is sugar. The manufacturer has not mentioned the type of sugar they use in their bagels. It may be refined sugar. Refined sugar is technically vegan but filtered using animal bone char. Many vegans don’t eat products made using refined sugar, while some are okay with it.

Thomas’ Bagels also makes non-vegan items such as Honey Wheat English Muffins and Buttermilk English Muffins. Many vegans don’t consume products from such brands due to cross-contamination risk from non-vegan ingredients like eggs, honey, and milk. Thomas’ Bagels aren’t good for you if you are allergic to wheat, tree nuts (walnuts), and soy.

Thomas’ Bagels are technically vegan but with some reservations. It is up to you to decide if you want to eat them.

Thomas’ Bagels Vegan Varieties

Thomas’ Bagels are a staple in many grocery stores. They have been in business for 35 years and are a famous breakfast option for millions of Americans. Let’s see which varieties are vegan!

All the varieties and flavors listed above are technically vegan but come with sugar (origin not specified) and a cross-contamination warning for milks and eggs.

Thomas’ Bagels Vegan Varieties

Are Thomas’ Bagels Gluten-Free?

No. Thomas’ bagels are not gluten-free. They are made with wheat, making them a rich source of gluten. You must not eat Thomas’ Bagels if you are allergic to gluten.

What Certification does Thomas’ Bagels Carry?

Thomas’ Bagels don’t have a vegan or USDA-organic certification, but it comes with Orthodox Union and Parve (Kosher) labels. It is good for vegans as these labels mean that this product does not contain any meat or dairy ingredients.

Do Thomas’ Bagels contain Eggs, Honey, Dairy, or Cheese?

Thomas’ Bagels don’t have eggs, honey, dairy, or cheese. However, they come with cross-contamination warnings for milk and eggs.

How to Avoid Non-Vegan Bagels?

Store-Bought: Start by checking the ingredients and labels on the packaging. Look for any ingredients online that you aren’t sure about. The common ingredients to avoid while buying vegan bagels are milk, eggs, honey, egg whites, honey, lactose, whey, casein, and cheese. Please note that most store-bought vegan bagels come with cross-contamination risks because they are prepared at a shared facility.

Eating Out: Ask the restaurant staff if they have vegan bagels. Don’t forget to pick vegan sides or toppings with your vegan bagels.

Are Panera Bagels Vegan?

Some Panera bagels are vegan, and some are not. You must check the ingredients before ordering. Panera bagels that are not vegan will have a “non-vegan” sign next to them.

Are Einstein Bros Bagels Vegan?

Yes. Einstein Bros offers a large variety of vegan bagels. However, not all of their bagels are vegan. You must always check the ingredients before ordering.

Are Noah’s Bagels Vegan?

Yes. They have vegan bagels. Noah’s is owned by Einstein Bros. They have the same menu offered by Einstein Bros Bagels.


  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

Leave a Comment

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268