Are Teddy Grahams Vegan? Vegan & Non Vegan Ingredients Explained

Teddy Grahams have 4 variations, as per their official website. Of the 4, 2 are not vegan, and 2 are vegan with a controversial ingredient. Let’s see which are vegan and which are not vegan.

Teddy Grahams Variants and Ingredients (Vegan or Not) 

Teddy Grahams Variants and Ingredients (Vegan or Not)

Teddy Grahams Honey: Not vegan as it contains honey 

Allergens: Wheat, Soy

Teddy Grahams Cinnamon: Vegan but with sugar’s origin not specified 

Allergens: Wheat, Soy

Teddy Grahams Chocolatey Chip: Not Vegan as it contains confectioner’s glaze 

Allergens: Wheat, Soy

Teddy Grahams Chocolate: Vegan but with sugar’s origin not specified 

Allergens: Wheat, Soy

Ingredient Analysis for Teddy Grahams 

Most of the ingredients in Teddy Grahams variants are the same but differ according to the flavor. The honey variant has honey in it, which makes it non-vegan. Similarly, the chocolatey chip variant has confectioner’s glaze, making it non-vegan.

The other two variants (cinnamon and chocolate) are vegan but have sugar in them, Teddy Grahams has not specified the origin of sugar, and this sugar is not USDA certified. It means you cannot be certain if this sugar is processed using bone char. Many vegans would avoid Teddy Grahams based on this information because veganism stands for justice for animals and avoiding everything made or processed using animal products.

Verdict: Teddy Grahams’ cinnamon and chocolate variants are technically vegan but with a controversial ingredient. Eating such items is your personal decision as no one else, but you must control what you eat and how strictly you adhere to vegan beliefs. However, you must avoid honey and chocolatey chip variants as they contain non-vegan ingredients.

What is Confectioner’s Glaze, and why is it not Vegan? 

Confectioner’s glaze or pharmaceutical glaze is made using shellac. Shellac is a resin secreted from a female lac bug (an animal). Hence, products made from shellac are not vegan. Similarly, edibles containing confectioner’s glaze are not vegan.

Are Teddy Grahams Gluten-Free? 

No. All Teddy Grahams are not gluten-free. All of the variants have wheat in them. People with a gluten allergy must avoid it at all costs.

Are Teddy Grahams Dairy-Free? 

Yes. All teddy Grahams variants are dairy-free. However, being dairy-free doesn’t mean that all of them are vegan.

Are Teddy Grahams Nut-Free? 

Yes. Teddy Grahams are nut-free. People with a nut allergy can have Teddy Grahams without any worries.

Are Teddy Grahams Healthy? 

Teddy Grahams are high in sugar, carbohydrates, and sodium. However, they can be healthy if you eat them in moderation and pair them with high-protein food. The nutrition facts for Teddy Grahams are shown in the image below.

nutrition facts for Teddy Grahams are shown in the Image below.

These values are for the chocolate chip variant. The values may change slightly for other flavors. So, don’t forget to check the packaging for exact values.


  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

Leave a Comment

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268