Pascall marshmallows are not vegan, as they contain gelatin and sugar. Vegans don’t eat derived from animals.
Pascall Marshmallows Flavors, Ingredients & why they are not Vegan?
- Invert Sugar
- Glucose Syrup
Non-Vegan Ingredients in Pascall Marshmallows Explained
Gelatin: Gelatin is made by boiling animal skin, tendons, ligaments, and bones in water. It is such a cruel process that even non-vegans have stopped using products made with gelatin. Many alternatives include agar agar, pectin, cornstarch, xanthan gum, and tapioca starch. All of them are 100% plant-based and cruelty-free. However, they impart a slight flavor.
Sugar: Pascall marshmallows use refined sugar. It is processed with animal bone char. Almost all vegans don’t eat refined sugar because of cruelty concerns. Raw sugar or organic sugar is 100% plant-based and safe for vegans.
Flavors: Flavors can be vegan or non-vegan. Artificial flavors are 100% vegan, but many brands test these flavors on animals before using them in human foods. Natural flavors can be plant-based or animal-derived.
Pascall marshmallows are not vegan. Some vegans may ignore sugar and flavors by giving them the benefit of the doubt. However, gelatin is 100% non-vegan and its manufacturing is highly cruel.
Best Vegan Marshmallows Brands
Trader’s Joe: Trader’s Joe is one of the oldest and most famous vegan brands. Its marshmallows are known for their unique taste and rich texture.
Dandies: Dandies are the best if you like flavored marshmallows. They come in 3 different flavors and taste really great with hot coffee.
Sarah’s Candy Factory: Are you a marshmallow lover? Sarah’s Candy Factory is the best brand for you. They come in different flavors and packing sizes so you never run out of stock. Moreover, Sarah’s marshmallows have an extremely soft texture.
Goodland Farms: Looking for marshmallows to go with coffee and baked foods? Goodland Marshmallows are what you need. They are large-sized marshmallows with a smooth and rich texture.
Yummallo: Yummallo has a unique taste with a vanilla flavor. Although 100% vegan, Yummallo carries a cross-contamination warning for milk and soy.
Freedom Confectionery: It offers the largest range of vegan marshmallows and spreads. There are lots of flavors and taste options available. Please check the ingredients before buying, as some of its products are not vegan.
Tips to Buy Vegan Marshmallows: Ingredients to Avoid
The simplest way to confirm is to check the labels and ingredients on the packaging. A food labeled vegan is 100% vegan but may contain a few controversial ingredients like palm oil or sugar. The vegan labels are usually displayed on the front or back side near the ingredient section to inform people that this product is vegan-friendly.
You may also see cross-contamination warnings like “may contain milk” on vegan products. It means that this product has been made in a factory that also processes milk. Most vegans are okay with such warnings, as almost all vegan products carry this warning. You can avoid this risk by buying from a 100% vegan brand.
Some marshmallows are vegan but may not have a vegan label. Many brands don’t put such labels so they don’t have to face legal issues in case of a mishap. You can confirm such products by checking the following ingredients.
- Gelatin: Almost all marshmallows contain gelatin. No vegan, even strict or moderate, is okay with gelatin.
- Eggs: Some marshmallows and many spreads contain egg whites. Vegetarians are fine with eggs, but vegans don’t eat eggs or egg products.
- Sugar: Sugar is okay if it is raw, organic, or USDA certified. You’ll see unprocessed cane sugar or maltodextrin in vegan marshmallows.
- Flavors: Flavors can be vegan or non-vegan. Hence, always check before buying.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are Pascall Marshmallows Vegetarian?
No. Pascall marshmallows are not vegetarian-friendly. Vegetarians are okay with milk, honey, and eggs but don’t eat things made from animal meat, skin, or bones. Vegetarians restrain from eating marshmallows that contain gelatin.
Are Pascall Marshmallows Dairy-Free?
Yes. Pascall marshmallows are 100% dairy-free. You can have them as much as you like on a dairy-free diet.
Are Pascall marshmallows Gluten-Free?
Yes. Pascall marshmallows are gluten-free. Most marshmallows are gluten-free as they are free from wheat or other gluten-containing ingredients.
Are Pascall Marshmallows Halal?
It depends on your personal beliefs. Pascall marshmallows contain gelatin which many people don’t eat. You must check the ingredients on the packaging and consult the brand to know if something is halal for you.
Is Marshmallow Fluff/Spread Vegan?
Some marshmallow spreads like Smucker’s are vegan. However, most marshmallow spreads are not vegan and are made with gelatin and egg whites. You must always check the ingredients before buying.
Are Lucky Charms Marshmallows Vegan?
No. Lucky Charms marshmallows are not vegan, as they are made with gelatin. Vegans don’t eat gelatin or other animal-derived ingredients.
Are Dandies Marshmallows Vegan?
Some Dandies marshmallows are vegan, while some are not. It is better to check the ingredients before buying.
Are Sprouts Marshmallows Vegan?
Sprout marshmallows are not vegan because they have gelatin in them.
Are Kraft Jet-Puffed Marshmallows Vegan?
Kraft Jet-Puffed marshmallows are not vegan because they contain gelatin.