Are Panera Bagels Vegan? 7 Vegan Options at Panera

Vegans always have to put in a little more time and effort when dining out or ordering something. This is true for Panera as well. Panera is a popular spot for all types of eaters. However, Panera’s menu has a handful of vegan dishes. You can also customize some items to make them 100% vegan.

Some Panera bagels are vegan and some are not. You can either look online before ordering at Panera or ask their representative about the bagel’s ingredients. Moreover, bagels that are not vegan will have a “non-vegan” sign next to them.

Hold On! Check nutritional facts for your favorite Panera items here.

7 Vegan Options at Panera

Vegan Bagels

Vegan Bagels

Panera offers a handful of vegan bagels. The list includes Plain, Everything, Poppyseed, Sesame, Salt, Blueberry, and Sprouted Grain Bagel Flat.

The nutritional values vary depending on which bagel you choose and how you customize it.

Panera doesn’t offer vegan cream cheese, but you can have avocado. Avocado is rich in dietary fiber and contains many healthy nutrients. Panera bagels are high in carbohydrates and have some proteins as well.

Vegan Bread

Vegan Bread

Panera is known for its variety of breads. Fortunately, there are plenty of options for vegans.

You can choose from the following:

  • Country Rustic Sourdough
  • Artisan Ciabatta
  • Black Pepper Focaccia
  • Sourdough Bread Bowl
  • Classic Sourdough Loaf
  • White Whole Grain Loaf
  • Whole Grain Sourdough Loaf
  • French Baguette
  • Tomato Basil Miche
  • Whole Grain Lavash Wrap

The nutritional facts vary for each bread option listed above. You can get a vegan sandwich with the above-mentioned breads, order a veggie side, or add avocado to your bread order.



Looking for a quick vegan snack or breakfast at Panera?  You can opt for two smoothies at Panera.

  • Peach & Blueberry Smoothie with Almond Milk

It has 49 grams of carbohydrates and 41 grams of sugar. If you are cutting sugar and carbohydrates from your diet, you should avoid this smoothie.

  • Green Passion Smoothie

Made from spinach, it is low in sodium and fat, like the peach & blueberry smoothie.

The smoothie options may not be as fulfilling as a full-course vegan lunch, but they are a great alternative to a quick non-vegan snack.

Also read: Are Einstein Bagels Vegan?


The Ten Vegetable Soup at Panera is a tasty vegan soup. The soup is rich in sodium, so you should balance it with low-sodium meals and snacks. Moreover, people on a low-sodium diet must avoid it. You can add Panera’s vegan bagels or bread on the side to make the soup more filling.


Panera offers a variety of salads, but not all are vegan. The good thing about salad is that you can easily remove non-vegan items when ordering online or dining out.

You can have a bowl of Tomato, Basil, & Cucumber Salad as a side with a soup or sandwich to make your meal wholesome and fulfilling. This particular salad has higher sodium content. We recommend picking a low-sodium option with it.

The best thing; it is low in fat, carbs, and sugar. Above all, it has zero cholesterol in it.

You can also go for a Fuji Apple with Chicken Salad (without chicken and Gorgonzola), Greek Salad (without feta), and Asian Sesame with Chicken (without chicken and wontons).


You can choose from a Baja Bowl or a Mediterranean bowl. Both these items must be ordered without feta or Greek yogurt to get a 100% vegan meal.


Steel Cut Oatmeal with Strawberries & Pecans is a vegan breakfast option at Panera. The food is rich in carbs and calories, but steel-cut oats have more protein and fiber than rolled or quick oats.

The oatmeal contains 17 grams of sugar, with a major portion coming from strawberries as natural sugar.

The strawberry and pecan topping makes the oatmeal fiber-rich, and both are known to reduce heart disease risks.

Vegan Diet at Panera

Panera knows what vegans want; a diet with no animal sources; no meat, fish, milk, shellfish, honey, or egg products, and no enzymes and rennet from animal sources.

no enzymes and rennet from animal sources

Tips to Eat Vegan at Panera

  • Browse Panera’s website before ordering.
  • Check the menu carefully before ordering, and be vocal about your concerns with the staff. Look for the “green leaf” in the bottom left corner of the picture.
  • Call the restaurant before you visit to inquire about vegan options for the day.
  • Order online, as you can easily customize the menu and remove all non-vegan items from your meal.
  • Add salads or a bagel to make your meal fulfilling.

Eating Out Vegan at Panera – Frequently Asked Questions

Does Panera have a vegan Pizza?

No. Panera’s pizzas are not vegan.

Does Panera offer gluten-free, vegan options?

No. Panera doesn’t offer gluten-free, vegan options. However, you can have a gluten-free, vegan meal at Panera by choosing plant-based soup and salads.

Can I have vegan smoothies at Panera?

Yes. Peach & Blueberry Smoothie with Almond Milk and Green Passion Smoothie are vegan smoothies.

Can I eat a vegan dessert at Panera?

No. All desserts at Panera contain dairy products/eggs/milk or some combination of the three.

Is mac and cheese vegan at Panera?

No. Panera doesn’t have any vegan cheese options.


  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

Leave a Comment

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268