Are Mint Oreos Vegan? Do Mint Oreos have Dairy?

Mint Oreos are free from animal-derived ingredients, making them vegan-friendly. However, not all vegans consider them vegan-friendly because of sugar, palm oil, and flavors.

Let’s see the ingredients in Mint Oreos and how these ingredients make Mint Oreos controversial!

Let’s see the ingredients in Mint Oreos and how these ingredients make Mint Oreos controversial

Mint Oreos Ingredients

Sugar, Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate {vitamin B1}, Riboflavin {Vitamin B2}, Folic Acid), Palm And/or Canola Oil, Cocoa (Processed With Alkali), High Fructose Corn Syrup, Leavening (baking Soda And/or Calcium Phosphate), Salt, Soy Lecithin, Peppermint Oil, Yellow 5 Lake, Blue 1 Lake, Chocolate, & Artificial Flavor.

Controversial Ingredients in Mint Oreos


The sugar in Oreos is not organic. You cannot be certain if it was processed using animal bone char. Moreover, Mondelez International has not specified the type of sugar used in Oreos. Refined sugar is technically vegan as it is free from animal-derived ingredients but filtered using animal bone char.  


FDA defines artificial flavors as manmade and free from plant-based or animal-derived ingredients. They are technically vegan, but many brands test these flavors on animals before using them in edibles. It makes it cruel on animals, and concerned vegans don’t eat it.

Palm Oil

Palm oil is also vegan, but its farming has damaged the ecosystem and natural habitat of many animals. Most vegans don’t eat products that harm animals. However, some companies only use palm oil that is ethically and sustainably farmed. Mondelez International, Oreo’s owner, sources its palm oil sustainably. It is committed to eradicating deforestation, animal cruelty, and human rights violation in the palm oil supply.

Verdict: The ingredients you must worry about are sugar and flavors. Palm oil in Oreos is ethically sourced, and it is 100% vegan. Most vegans are okay with Oreos, whereas some strict vegans don’t eat them. It is up to you to decide if you want to eat Oreos.

Moreover, Mondelez International makes non-vegan products too. Some vegans don’t buy food from brands that make non-vegan items too. There is always a risk of cross-contamination with big brands like Mondelez and Nestle.

cross-contamination with big brands like Mondelez and Nestle

Are Mint Oreos Gluten-Free?

No. Mint Oreos are not gluten-free. They are made with wheat, making them gluten-rich.

Do Mint Oreos have Dairy in them?

No. Mint Oreos are dairy-free. Most people think Oreos are rich in milk due to their packaging design and marketing tactics. The package shows a cookie splashing with white liquid (presumed to be milk). However, this is just a design and has nothing to do with the ingredients in Oreo.

Are Golden Oreos Vegan?

Yes. Golden Oreos are vegan but have refined sugar, palm oil, and flavors. These ingredients put Oreos on the gray list, and many vegans don’t eat them.

Are Gluten-Free Oreos Vegan?

Gluten-free Oreos are vegan but contain controversial ingredients like palm oil, flavors, and sugar. So, it is up to you to decide if you want to eat them.

Are Birthday Cake Oreos Vegan?

Birthday Cake Oreos are vegan if you are okay with refined sugar, flavors, and palm oil. Many vegans don’t eat edibles with these ingredients because they aren’t cruelty-free.

Are Lemon Oreos Vegan?

Lemon Oreos don’t have any non-vegan ingredients, but you may not like them if you are a conscious vegan. They have sugar, palm oil, and flavors.

Are Fried Oreos Vegan?

Fried Oreos are vegan as long as you use vegan Oreo variety and vegan ingredients in the recipe.


  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

Leave a Comment

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268