Are Lemon Oreos Vegan? Sugar, Palm Oil and Flavors Explained

Lemon Oreos are technically vegan as they don’t have animal-derived ingredients but contain sugar, palm oil, and artificial flavors.

Many vegans don’t eat foods with these ingredients because they aren’t cruelty-free. For example, refined sugar is processed using animal bone char. Artificial flavors may be tested on animals, and palm oil farming threatens many animals.

and palm oil farming threatens many animals

Lemon Oreos Ingredients

Sugar, Unbleached Enriched Flour (wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate {Vitamin B1}, Riboflavin {Vitamin B2}, Folic Acid), Palm And/or Canola Oil, High Fructose Corn Syrup, Salt, Baking Soda, Soy Lecithin, Natural Flavor, Citric Acid, Artificial Flavor, & Annatto Extract (For Color).

Controversial Ingredients in Lemon Oreos


The sugar in Oreos is not organic. So, there is a high chance that it is refined sugar. Refined sugar is technically vegan but filtered using animal bone char. Many vegans avoid foods with refined sugar, while some are okay with it. Veganism is not only about the food you consume. It is a complete lifestyle focusing on justice and cruelty-free animal practices.

Palm Oil

Palm oil is present in many vegan foods. The problem with palm oil is that its farming has damaged the natural habitat of many animals and negatively impacted our environment. However, many brands only use sustainable palm oil. Mondelez International, the owner of Oreo, uses palm oil that is sustainably farmed with no animal cruelty or human rights violation.

Natural and Artificial Flavors

Artificial and natural flavors may or may not be vegan, depending on their source. FDA explains that natural flavors can be obtained from plants or animals and artificial flavors as man-made flavors that are not derived from plants or animals.

The problem with Oreos is that the manufacturer has not mentioned the source of these ingredients. You cannot be 100% sure about these ingredients. Moreover, many brands test these flavors on animals before adding them to human food.

Verdict: It depends on your personal preferences and how strictly you follow veganism. Many vegans only eat foods with 100% plant-based, organic, and sustainably sourced ingredients. On the contrary, some are okay with foods that contain controversial ingredients.

Mondelez International is a big company that makes vegan and non-vegan foods using the same equipment. There is a high chance of cross-contamination in such products. Hence, please keep all these things in mind before buying Lemon Oreos.

please keep all these things in mind before buying Lemon Oreos

Are Lemon Oreos Gluten-Free?

No. Lemon Oreos are not gluten-free. They contain wheat which is rich in gluten. People with gluten allergies must not have Lemon Oreos. You can instead have Gluten-Free Oreos.

Do Lemon Oreos Have Dairy?

Yes. Contrary to the popular belief that Oreos are rich in milk, Oreos are dairy-free. They don’t have milk or milk products. Oreo’s packaging design (showing a cookie splashing milk) is just a way to support Oreo’s marketing slogan that it tastes great with milk.

Are Golden Oreos Vegan?

Golden Oreos are vegan if you are okay with sugar, palm oil, and flavors. Many vegans eat Oreos without any reservations.

Are Gluten-Free Oreos Vegan?

Yes. They are vegan but come with controversial ingredients, like other Oreo varieties.

Are Mint Oreos Vegan?

It depends on what you think about the controversial ingredients like sugar, palm oil, and flavors. You may consider them vegan if you are okay with the ingredients.

Are Birthday Cake Oreos Vegan?

Birthday Cake Oreos are vegan but contain sugar, palm oil, and artificial flavors. It depends on how strictly you follow veganism and whether you are okay with these ingredients.

Are Fried Oreos Vegan?

It depends on the batter you use to fry Oreos. Fried Oreos are vegan as long as the recipe ingredients and Oreo variety you pick are vegan.


  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

Leave a Comment

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268