Are Gluten-Free Oreos Vegan? Gluten-Free Oreos Ingredients

Gluten-free Oreos are technically vegan, but they contain a few controversial ingredients. Many vegans are okay with eating gluten-free Oreos, while others consider them non-vegan due to refined sugar, palm oil, and artificial flavors.

it non-vegan due to refined sugar, palm oil and artificial flavors in it

Gluten-Free Oreos Ingredients

Sugar, White Rice Flour, Tapioca Starch, Palm Oil, Canola Oil, Whole Oat Flour, Cornstarch, Cocoa (Processed With Alkali), Invert Sugar, Soy Lecithin, Baking Soda, Salt, Xanthan Gum, Chocolate, and Artificial Flavors.

Controversial Ingredients in Gluten-Free Oreos

Palm Oil

Pam oil is technically vegan as it is free from animal-derived ingredients, but its farming has damaged the natural habitat of many animals and the earth’s ecosystem. However, many farms produce sustainable, ethical, and cruelty-free palm oil. Vegans can have that without any worries. The good part about Oreos is that Mondelez International, Oreo Owner, uses only sustainable palm oil in all its products.


Mondelez has not mentioned the source of sugar of its products. So, there is a high chance that the sugar in Oreo is refined and processed using animal bone char. The confusion around sugar in Oreos puts it on the gray list for vegans. Many vegans may not eat edibles with refined sugar.

Artificial Flavors

FDA defines artificial flavors as man-made and free from plant or al derived ingredients. Artificial flavors are vegan, but manufacturers mostly test them on animals before using them. So, they aren’t cruelty-free.

Verdict: Refined sugar and artificial flavors are the major ingredients that make gluten-free Oreos controversial for vegans. Palm oil in Oreos is 100% vegan and cruelty-free.

Another important factor to consider is cross-contamination. Vegan and non-vegan Oreos are made using the same equipment. So, you must also keep this in mind while buying Oreos next time.

Moreover, many vegans don’t buy products from companies that make vegan and non-vegan products. Mondelez, like Nestle, is a big brand that makes vegan and non-vegan foods.

Are Gluten-Free Oreos Dairy-Free?

You may think that Oreos have milk because of their packaging design. The cookie splashing white liquid gives the impression that Oreos have a lot of milk. This is wrong. Oreos are 100% dairy-free.

impression that Oreos have a lot of milk. This is wrong. Oreos are 100% dairy-free

Are Golden Oreos Vegan?

Yes. Golden Oreos are vegan but contain palm oil, refined sugar, and natural & artificial flavors. Palm oil is sustainable, while the origin for the other 3 ingredients has not been specified by Oreo, making them controversial.

Are Mint Oreos Vegan?

Mint Oreos are vegan but with refined sugar and artificial flavors. Most vegans don’t eat foods with refined sugar because it is processed using bone char.

Are Birthday Cake Oreos Vegan?

Birthday Cake Oreos are vegan but with controversial ingredients like refined sugar and flavors. You may not like these ingredients if you are a strict vegan.

Are Lemon Oreos Vegan?

Yes. Lemon Oreos are vegan but contain refined sugar and flavors.

Are Fried Oreos Vegan?

It depends on the ingredients and Oreo variety you use in the recipe. Most Oreos are vegan but contain refined sugar, palm oil, and flavors.


  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

Leave a Comment

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268