Are Fried Oreos Vegan? Vegan Fried Oreos Recipe

It depends on two things.

  • Recipe Ingredients
  • Oreo Variety

Most Oreos are vegan but with controversial ingredients like sugar, palm oil, and artificial flavors. You can look for vegan batter recipes online, or you may already know a couple of them if you are an experienced vegan.

So, if your recipe is vegan, it is safe to say that fried Oreos are vegan.

Please note that fried Oreos from a restaurant aren’t always vegan. You must check the ingredients before buying or ask the restaurant staff to make them vegan. However, there is still a chance of cross-contamination in restaurant-bought food.

contamination in restaurant-bought food

Controversial Ingredients in Oreos

All Oreo varieties have three ingredients that vegans point out. Let’s look at how these ingredients make Oreos controversial for vegans.


Mondelez International, Oreo’s owner, has not specified the type of sugar they use in Oreos. It is not organic, but it is likely refined. Refined sugar is filtered using animal bone char. It is technically vegan, but it is not cruelty-free. Many vegans avoid refined sugar.

Palm Oil

Palm oil is technically vegan, but its farming has damaged the natural habitat of many animals. It has also caused wide-scale deforestation. However, palm oil is 100% vegan if its farming is cruelty-free, ethical, and sustainable. Mondelez International is committed to using ethically sourced palm oil. So, you don’t need to worry about Palm oil in Oreos.

Natural and Artificial Flavors

Natural flavors may or may not be vegan as they can be derived from plants or animals. On the contrary, artificial flavors are man-made and are not derived from plants or animals. However, many brands test artificial flavors on animals before using them in edibles. 

Some Oreo varieties contain natural and artificial flavors, while some only have artificial flavors.

Verdict: Palm oil is 100% vegan, but you cannot be sure about the sugar and flavors in Oreos. Moreover, Mondelez International is a big brand and makes non-vegan foods too. Hence, there is a high chance of cross-contamination from non-vegan ingredients like milk.

Recipe Image

Vegan Fried Oreos Recipe

Andy Nevers
Let’s make delicious vegan fried Oreos with this simple recipe. It takes only 20 minutes to prepare and tastes great.
Prep Time 15 minutes
Cook Time 5 minutes
Total Time 20 minutes
Course Dessert, Snacks
Cuisine American
Servings 15 servings
Calories 89 kcal


  • Deep fryer or frying pot
  • 2 medium-sized bowls (for mixing)
  • Food thermometer
  • Tongs
  • Paper towel (for drying oil)


  • 15 Oreos (you can use any vegan variety)
  • ½ tablespoon ground flax seeds
  • ¾ cups flour
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • ¼ tbsp baking powder
  • tsp salt
  • ¼ tsp vanilla
  • ½ cup + 2 tbsp dairy free milk
  • Oil (for frying)
  • Vegan powdered sugar (for coating)


  • Add oil to a deep fryer or deep frying pan and heat to 375 Fahrenheit. It is important to ensure that oil reaches this temperature. You can use a food thermometer to check the temperature if you use a boiling pot.
  • Take a small bowl and mix flax seeds and water. Set it aside for 10 minutes. It will act as a vegan flax egg.
  • Add baking powder, flour, sugar, and salt to another bowl. Whisk together.
  • After resting for 10 minutes, pour in dairy-free milk, vanilla, and flax egg, and whisk to achieve a thick pancake batter consistency.
  • Once the batter is ready, and the oil has reached the required temperature, add an Oreo to the batter and coat both sides generously.
  • Fry it in the hot oil and cook for 1-2 minutes or until golden brown.
  • Remove the fried Oreo using tongs and place it on a paper towel-lined plate.
  • Check if the taste is okay.
  • You can now fry more Oreos. You don’t need to go one by one.
  • Top with powdered sugar, vegan chocolate shavings, vegan cream, or vegan biscuits.



You can use any type of plant-based milk in this recipe. Oat, cashews, and almonds are the most popular options.
You can use any type of vegan Oreo in this recipe. The common and famous choices are Golden Oreos, Mint Oreos, Gluten-Free Oreos (if you want the recipe to be gluten-free), Lemon Oreos, and Birthday Cake Oreos.
You can store the leftover batter in the refrigerator for 3-4 days and use it when you want to have fried Oreos.
Fried Oreos taste best right after frying. They don’t taste great when you reheat or refry them. You can prepare the batter ahead and start frying right away when craving fried Oreos.
The nutritional information given below is calculated approximately. It may change depending on the quality/quantity of ingredients.
  • Fat: 3g
  • Saturated Fat: 1g
  • Sugar: 6g
  • Carbohydrates: 15g
  • Fiber: 1g
  • Protein: 2g
  • Sodium: 80mg
  • Potassium: 69mg
  • Calcium: 27mg
  • Iron: 1mg
  • Vitamin A: 39IU
  • Vitamin C: 1mg
Keyword Vegan Fried Oreos


Are Deep Fried Oreos Vegan?

Fried Oreos are vegan as long as they don’t have any non-vegan ingredients. You can fry them in any vegan oil. Vegan Oreos will be vegan whether they are deep-fried or light-fried.  

Are Golden Oreos Vegan?

Golden Oreos don’t have any animal-derived ingredients, but they have a few controversial ingredients like sugar, palm oil, and flavors.

Are Gluten-Free Oreos Vegan?

Yes. They are vegan if you are okay with consuming sugar, palm oil, and flavors.

Are Mint Oreos Vegan?

It depends on how strictly you follow veganism. Some vegans are okay with ingredients like sugar, palm oil, and flavors. All of these are technically vegan but involved with animals in one or another.

Are Lemon Oreos Vegan?

Lemon Oreos are vegan because they don’t have any animal-derived ingredients. However, they contain sugar that may be filtered with bone char.

Are Birthday Cake Oreos Vegan?

Yes. They are vegan but contain controversial ingredients like palm oil, flavors, and sugars.


  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

Leave a Comment

Recipe Rating

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268