Yes. Dandies marshmallows are vegan. Dandies is one of the few marshmallow brands that are 100% plant-based and vegan. Moreover, they are free from corn syrup, artificial flavors or colors, and allergens.
Now that you know Dandies Marshmallows are vegan. You can eat them as much as you like. However, it is better to always consume everything in moderation.
Dandies Marshmallows Flavors and Ingredients
Dandies marshmallows are available in vanilla, mini vanilla, pumpkin, peppermint, and maple flavors. All of them are 100% vegan and free from controversial ingredients like sugar, artificial flavors, and corn syrup.
Let’s check out the ingredients in each variant.
- Vanilla & Mini Vanilla: Tapioca Syrup, Cane Sugar, Filtered Water, Tapioca Starch, Carrageenan, Soy Protein, Natural Vanilla Flavor.
- Pumpkin: Tapioca Syrup, Cane Sugar, Filtered Water, Tapioca Starch, Carrageenan, Soy Protein, Natural Vanilla Flavor, Natural Pumpkin Flavor, Annatto.
- Peppermint: Tapioca Syrup, Cane Sugar, Filtered Water, Tapioca Starch, Carrageenan, Soy Protein, Beet Juice Concentrate, Natural Peppermint Flavor.
- Maple: Tapioca Syrup, Cane Sugar, Filtered Water, Tapioca Starch, Carrageenan, Soy Protein, Colored with Apple Cider Concentrate, Natural Vanilla Flavor, Maple Syrup, Natural Maple Flavor.
Verdict: All the flavors are 100% plant-based and free from controversial ingredients. Moreover, Dandies is a 100% vegan brand, as it only makes vegan marshmallows. You can buy them without any worries.
Vegan Marshmallow Brands other than Dandies
So, if you can’t find Dandies or don’t like their taste. Don’t worry; there are plenty of other options if you want vegan marshmallows. PETA has listed the major vegan marshmallow brands you can buy. The best-tasting ones are mentioned below.
Sarah’s Candy Factory: Sarah’s Candy Factory is another 100% vegan brand offering great tasting and fluffy marshmallows. You can buy large and mini marshmallows as per your preferences.
Goodland Farms: These are best if you like jumbo-sized marshmallows. Big marshmallows are best paired with baked goods and coffee.
Trader Joe’s: Trader’s Joe is a famous vegan brand. It offers many vegan foods and vegan marshmallows.
Yummallo: Yummallo’s vanilla-flavored vegan marshmallows are known for their extra softness. Yummallo comes with a cross-contamination warning for milk and eggs. You may want to avoid it if you are a strict vegan.
Freedom Confectionary: Freedom Confectionery offers vegan marshmallows in vanilla, strawberry, and classic flavors.
Tips to Buy 100% Vegan & Plant-Based Marshmallows: Ingredients to Avoid
- Check Labels and Ingredients: Don’t forget to check labels and read ingredients if you are following a particular diet type. Most vegan foods have labels mentioning the food type.
- Gelatin: No vegan; strict, or moderate will ever eat gelatin. It is made by boiling animal skin, bones, tendons, and ligaments. Many people who don’t follow a particular diet are now avoiding gelatin due to its cruel manufacturing process.
- Sugar: Sugar can be vegan or non-vegan. Refined sugar is mostly non-vegan because it is processed using animal bone char. However, organic, unprocessed cane sugar and maltodextrin are 100% vegan.
- Eggs: Some marshmallows and almost all marshmallow spreads contain egg white. Vegans don’t eat eggs, honey, and milk.
- Flavoring: Many marshmallows contain artificial and natural flavors. The flavors used can be vegan or non-vegan. Many brands list the type of flavors they use in the recipe. You can check online or write to the manufacturer for a detailed answer.
Are Dandies Marshmallows Halal?
Yes. Dandies Marshmallows are Halal. They don’t have gelatin. Many people often confuse vegan with halal. This isn’t true. You must always check the labels and ingredients on the packaging before buying if you are following a particular diet type.
Are Dandies Marshmallows Gluten-Free?
Yes. All Dandies marshmallows are gluten-free. Moreover, most marshmallows are gluten-free. So, you can eat them without any worries if you have a gluten allergy.
Are Dandies Marshmallows Dairy-Free?
Yes. Almost all marshmallows, including Dandies, are dairy-free. However, some brands may introduce seasonal or funky varieties containing dairy. Don’t forget to check the ingredients if you are buying a new brand or unsure about a particular flavor.
Are Dandies Marshmallows Kosher?
Yes. Dandies marshmallows are kosher. They are made as per the Jewish laws under the supervision of cRc.
Do Dandies Marshmallows have any Allergens?
Some flavors may contain soy. So, it is better to avoid Dandies if you have a soy allergy. The good news about Dandies is that they are free from many common allergens, such as wheat, peanut, tree nuts, gluten, fish, shellfish, mustard, corn, and sesame.
Are all Dandies Marshmallows Vegan?
Yes. All of Dandies flavors are 100% vegan and free from animal-derived ingredients.
Are Jet-Puffed Marshmallows Vegan?
No. Kraft’s Jet-Puffed marshmallows are not vegan. They contain gelatin. Vegans don’t eat gelatin or any other products made from animals.
Are Pascall Marshmallows Vegan?
Pascall’s marshmallows are not vegan. They are made using gelatin. Vegans and vegetarians don’t eat gelatin.
Are Lucky Charms Marshmallows Vegan?
No. Lucky Charms Marshmallows are not vegan. They also contain gelatin, like most other marshmallows.
Are Sprouts Marshmallows Vegan?
Sprouts Marshmallows are not vegan. They contain gelatin. Gelatin is produced by boiling animal bones, skin, tendons, and joints in water.