Are Birthday Cake Oreos Vegan? Controversial Ingredients Explained

Birthday Cake Oreos are free from animal-derived ingredients, but have ingredients processed using animal products. Birthday Cake Oreos contain sugar that may be processed using animal bone char, artificial flavors that may be tested on animals, and palm oil.

processed using animal bone char, artificial flavors that may be tested on animals, and palm oil

Birthday Cake Oreos Ingredients

Sugar, Unbleached Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Niacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamine Mononitrate {Vitamin B1}, Riboflavin {Vitamin B2}, Folic Acid), Palm And/or Canola Oil, Cocoa (Processed With Alkali), High Fructose Corn Syrup, Leavening (Baking Soda And/or Calcium Phosphate), Salt, Soy Lecithin, Artificial Flavor, Chocolate, Natural Flavor, Yellow 5, Blue 1, Red 40, & Red 3.

Controversial Ingredients in Birthday Cake Oreos


Mondelez International, the owner of Oreos, has not specified the sugar they use in Birthday Cake Oreos. Hence, there is a possibility that Oreos contain refined sugar. Refined sugar is technically vegan but filtered using animal bone char. Many vegans don’t eat foods made with refined sugar. Veganism is not only about the diet you eat. It is a complete lifestyle focusing on cruelty-free practices and justice for animals.

Palm Oil

Palm oil farming has damaged the natural habitat of many animals. It is also technically vegan, but many vegans avoid it for ethical reasons. However, many palm oil farms are sustainable and ethical. Mondelez International sources palm oil from sustainable and ethical sources. Vegans don’t have to worry about palm oil in Oreos.

Artificial Flavors

Artificial flavors are man-made and free from plant and animal-based ingredients. However, many companies test these flavors on animals before using them as an ingredient in human food. This is a red line for most vegans. Artificial flavors are technically vegan but not cruelty-free.

Verdict: Palm oil is vegan, but we can’t be sure about sugar and flavors in Oreos. It is up to you to decide if you want to eat Oreos. Moreover, vegan and non-vegan Oreos are made on the same equipment. So, there is a high risk of cross-contamination.

Mondelez International is a big brand that makes non-vegan foods too. Many vegans don’t buy from brands that make non-vegan foods as well. Whether to eat Oreos or not depends on how strictly you follow veganism.

Whether to eat Oreos or not depends on how strictly you follow veganism

Are Birthday Cake Oreos Dairy-Free?

Yes. Due to its packaging, many people assume that Oreos are rich in milk. This isn’t true. Almost all Oreos, including Birthday Cake Oreos, are dairy-free. The milk and cookie design on the Oreo pack just conveys the message that Oreos taste great with milk.

Do Birthday Cake Oreos have Gluten?

Yes. Birthday Cake Oreos are not gluten-free. They are made with wheat and are not good for people with gluten allergies.

Are Golden Oreos Vegan?

Yes. They are vegan but contain sugar, palm oil, and natural and artificial flavors. All these ingredients are controversial for vegans, and many refuse to eat them.

Are Mint Oreos Vegan?

Mint Oreos are vegan but contain sugar, palm oil, and artificial flavors. Sugar in Oreos is not organic, so it is up to you to eat Mint Oreos.

Are Gluten-Free Oreos Vegan?

Yes. Gluten-Free Oreos are vegan if you are okay with refined sugar, palm oil, and artificial flavors. Many vegans don’t like foods containing these ingredients.

Are Lemon Oreos Vegan?

Lemon Oreos are vegan but come with controversial ingredients like sugar, palm oil, and artificial flavors.

Are Fried Oreos Vegan?

Fried Oreos can be vegan if you use a vegan variety and vegan ingredients to fry them.


  • Andy Nevers

    Andy Nevers, the founder of VeganPros and GBB is a strong advocate for the plant-based movement. After going vegan a few years ago, Andy has set out on a mission to help make the world a healthier place.

Leave a Comment

6929 Willow St NW STE 299, Washington, DC 20012, United States
+1 202-558-7268